The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Wordpress auto update

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by uacomm, May 20, 2011.

  1. uacomm

    uacomm Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2011
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I have WordPress installed at different sites at different cpanel servers. I can auto-update WordPress version and plugins via wordpress admin area except at one server. At that server when I or any my shared hosting client click on "Update Automatically Button" it requires FTP login details with below message:

    "To perform the requested action, WordPress needs to access to your web server. Please enter your FTP credentials to proceed. If you do not remember your credentials, you should contact your web host."

    Why that server need FTP credentials? When all other servers I have that is not required.
     
  2. cPanelTristan

    cPanelTristan Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    7,623
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    somewhere over the rainbow
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Is this WordPress that is a cPAddon or installed via Fantastico / Softaculous ?
     
  3. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,482
    Likes Received:
    203
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:

    File permissions. If you check the wp-content/ directory on these sites you should note that the one asking for FTP login is different. Is SuPHP enabled for all servers? I'm guessing not for the one asking for login as it wants login to write to that directory that it can't otherwise.
     
  4. uacomm

    uacomm Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2011
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    From where can I check SuPHP enabled or not in the server?
     
  5. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,482
    Likes Received:
    203
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
  6. uacomm

    uacomm Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2011
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I ran /usr/local/cpanel/bin/rebuild_phpconf --current and is rsult is:

    Available handlers: suphp dso cgi none
    DEFAULT PHP: 5
    PHP4 SAPI: none
    PHP5 SAPI: dso
    SUEXEC: enabled

    Is it mean Suphp is not enabled?
     
  7. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,482
    Likes Received:
    203
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Correct: PHP5 SAPI: dso
     
Loading...

Share This Page