Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

Wordpress auto update

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by uacomm, May 20, 2011.

  1. uacomm

    uacomm Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2011
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    I have WordPress installed at different sites at different cpanel servers. I can auto-update WordPress version and plugins via wordpress admin area except at one server. At that server when I or any my shared hosting client click on "Update Automatically Button" it requires FTP login details with below message:

    "To perform the requested action, WordPress needs to access to your web server. Please enter your FTP credentials to proceed. If you do not remember your credentials, you should contact your web host."

    Why that server need FTP credentials? When all other servers I have that is not required.
     
  2. cPanelTristan

    cPanelTristan Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    7,608
    Likes Received:
    32
    Trophy Points:
    238
    Location:
    somewhere over the rainbow
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Is this WordPress that is a cPAddon or installed via Fantastico / Softaculous ?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    16,578
    Likes Received:
    439
    Trophy Points:
    583
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:

    File permissions. If you check the wp-content/ directory on these sites you should note that the one asking for FTP login is different. Is SuPHP enabled for all servers? I'm guessing not for the one asking for login as it wants login to write to that directory that it can't otherwise.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  4. uacomm

    uacomm Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2011
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    From where can I check SuPHP enabled or not in the server?
     
  5. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    16,578
    Likes Received:
    439
    Trophy Points:
    583
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  6. uacomm

    uacomm Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2011
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    I ran /usr/local/cpanel/bin/rebuild_phpconf --current and is rsult is:

    Available handlers: suphp dso cgi none
    DEFAULT PHP: 5
    PHP4 SAPI: none
    PHP5 SAPI: dso
    SUEXEC: enabled

    Is it mean Suphp is not enabled?
     
  7. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    16,578
    Likes Received:
    439
    Trophy Points:
    583
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Correct: PHP5 SAPI: dso
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice