The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Wordpress blog & setting it up as the main domain

Discussion in 'Database Discussions' started by RLB, May 27, 2011.

1. RLB

RLB Member

Hi All,

I am a newbie and I have tried looking for answers to my question to no avail.

I very recently got my domain names, webhosting space etc etc. Deciding on how to make a website, I have opted for Wordpress since my idea is to have a blog that resembles a website and has an online community. So far so good, I have been toying with Wordpress and it is starting to look nice and as I would like it to be.

When I went to file manager, I saw that the blog (installed through Fantastico) was put as a root of public.html. So, if I typed on my browser my domain as in www.mydomain.com, I would get an error as there was nothing there. Reading around a bit, I decided to include in the code of the index.html a line saying that the website is under construction. Now, when I click on the aforementioned domain I get an "under construction" message (with a picture) as I desired. Again, all fine and dandy.

The problem comes when I now want the actual blog (which is almost finished) to be what it is "seen" (newbie term) when people click on www.mydomain.com. The only way to see the blog (which is what I want the website to be) is via typing mydomain.com/blog . I am concerned of modifying anything in the public.html, or file manager for that matter, thinking I would delete anything important. So my main, and other questions, are:

1) How can I have the Wordpress blog as the website itself (people click on www.mydomain.com and get the front page of the blog). Where do I put the blog folder in file directory? Do I modify the index.html file?