The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

WordPress can work with a domain alias?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Shlomi, Mar 15, 2016.

  1. Shlomi

    Shlomi Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2016
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Israel
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    I have 3 domains and i addad them on my cPanel and thare are referred to the same folder on the root directory

    When I access from all the 3 domains I see the html that is in the folder (Obviously :))

    My question is: I want to install WordPress Is this going to work for all 3 domains or it will be installed only on one address and other addresses will be redirected to the main one

    I know it's not good for SEO but it's not the important to me
     
  2. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,764
    Likes Received:
    662
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello :)

    You must install each WordPress instance into it's own document root. You can create subdirectories and update the document root for your addon domain names with the edit icon under the "Addon Domains" interface in cPanel:

    Addon Domains - Documentation - cPanel Documentation

    Thank you.
     
  3. Shlomi

    Shlomi Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2016
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Israel
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    If I do that and I would access domain.com/XYZ the content will not displayed if I will access with domain.org/XYZ
    except if I will added the page / post on the other site

    What I want is a complete copy "doamin.com" and "domain.org" will be the same if its possible :rolleyes:
     
  4. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,764
    Likes Received:
    662
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    In the case of a domain alias, it should load the exact content the domain name it's an alias to. Thus, no additional action is required beyond adding the additional domain name as an alias.

    Thank you.
     
  5. Shlomi

    Shlomi Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2016
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Israel
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    So what you're saying is that I need to install WordPress on 3 doamins and thay will have the same content?

    I'm sorry but it does not make sense to me :(
    why should "domain.com" display the same contents of "doamin.org" if they are not even Installed on the same directory
    can you please explain a bit more?
     
  6. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,764
    Likes Received:
    662
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    No, you would only install WordPress once. Since the other domain names were added as "Aliases" in cPanel, they will automatically load the contents of the domain name they were added as aliases to:

    Aliases - Documentation - cPanel Documentation

    Thank you.
     
  7. Shlomi

    Shlomi Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2016
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Israel
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    exactly with thet I have a problem, I added a domain aliase
    but I cant refer it to the folder i Installed wordpress on (by default and this is the only option is "/public_html" folder)
    you can see the attached Image
    [Removed - Please Attach Images Directly to Post]
     
  8. Shlomi

    Shlomi Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2016
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Israel
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    ok i m adding the images

    cPanel.png
     
  9. kdean

    kdean Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2012
    Messages:
    262
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Orlando, FL
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Wordpress forms it's links using the full domain name so while the 1st page may load under multiple domain names pointed at it, once the person clicks they'll end up at whatever the domain name Wordpress is using in it's settings. So, you can redirect different domains to one domain but not have one install drive 3 different domains with the same content.
     
  10. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,764
    Likes Received:
    662
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    You can move your WordPress installation to the public_html directory by following the instructions at:

    Moving WordPress « WordPress Codex

    Thank you.
     
Loading...

Share This Page