The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Wordpress plugins won't update after WP installed with Site Softeware

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by jndawson, Sep 16, 2015.

  1. jndawson

    jndawson Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2014
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    18
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    We moved a new customer's WordPress website to one of our cPanel boxes by setting up the account, installing Wordpress with the site software tool, then dropping in the tar ball and sql files. Site works fine, customer happy.

    Now, the customer is trying to update a bunch of plugins through the WP console and and is getting nothing - blank page - and no updates. I've searched through the forums and can only find outdated info that doesn't apply. Customer sent a screen shot (attached).

    I know that manually updating WP after it's been installed using Site Software can hose the site, but I understood that plugins can still be installed manually.

    In wp-config, there is the following:
    Code:
    /*
    * cPanel & WHM® Site Software
    *
    * Core updates should be disabled entirely by the cPanel & WHM® Site Software
    * plugin, as Site Software will provide the updates.  The following line acts
    * as a safeguard, to avoid automatically updating if that plugin is disabled.
    *
    * Allowing updates outside of the Site Software interface in cPanel & WHM®
    * could lead to DATA LOSS.
    *
    * Re-enable automatic background updates at your own risk.
    */
    define( 'WP_AUTO_UPDATE_CORE', false );
    
    Does this affect updating plugins? Is this the proper way to update plugins? Did I miss any code in any other files that may affect updating plugins? Is there anything else I should be looking at?

    Customer screenshot - note cPanel & WHM plugin inactive:

    Plugin-Updates.jpg
     
    #1 jndawson, Sep 16, 2015
    Last edited by a moderator: Sep 16, 2015
  2. dalem

    dalem Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2003
    Messages:
    2,577
    Likes Received:
    40
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    SLC
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    this is not really a cpanel issue you would have better luck on the WP forms
    but is likely a permissions issue
    tail your Apache error log while updating and see what errors you get
     
  3. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,762
    Likes Received:
    662
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello :)

    The entry in the configuration file that you have referenced is for core updates, not updates for plugins. Do you notice any error messages in /usr/local/apache/logs/error_log when attempting to update the plugin? Have you reported this issue on the WordPress support forums?

    Thank you.
     
  4. jndawson

    jndawson Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2014
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    18
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Yes, it is. I'm asking what changes cPanel made to their dist of WP.
     
  5. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,762
    Likes Received:
    662
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
  6. jndawson

    jndawson Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2014
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    18
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Yes, we're troubleshooting again. And no, we haven't posted on wp forums yet. Many existing threads pertaining to cPanel on the wp forum seem to send people to the cPanel forum for answers.
     
  7. jndawson

    jndawson Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2014
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    18
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    To wrap this up, it turns out the original install on the non-cpanel server had a different location for the upload directory. Added the directory and everything works.
     
  8. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,762
    Likes Received:
    662
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
Loading...

Share This Page