The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Wordpress sites are slow

Discussion in 'Workarounds and Optimization' started by Cameron W, Jul 10, 2016.

Tags:
  1. Cameron W

    Cameron W Registered

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2015
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Perth
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    We are having issues with wordpress sites been very slow to load. We have tried to optimise the wordpress site and install the W3 Total Cache to try to speed up the site on initial load.

    Our server is 8GB Ram, 400GB HDD, 4 x 2.6Ghz CPU and the average usage is around 30% CPU, and around 4-5GB Memory Usage. We also seeing no heavy resource usage at any time. We are utilizing around 60% HDD usage.

    The bandwidth to the server is also fine as we see a 40-60% utilisation of traffic entering through to our network.

    We do use cloudlinux to distribute the resources to all accounts on the server and have no issues with non wordpress sites. If someone could suggest things that we could try, that would be great.
     
  2. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,478
    Likes Received:
    203
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    This is really more of a question for the wordpress support forums than a cPanel issue. Over there they'll probably ask what addons you're using, and if you've tried disabling them all to see if things change. They'll ask if your wordpress site is up to date too of course. This term: "wordpress site is slow" and any others you can think of similar, has been asked millions of times on google.
     
  3. Cameron W

    Cameron W Registered

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2015
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Perth
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi InfoPro,

    It seems to me it's a cpanel issue rather than a wordpress issue. To me it's a firstbyte issue.

    Code:
    root@cloud-block-04a:~# curl -w "@curl-format.txt" -o /dev/null -s "example.com"
      time_namelookup:  0.013
      time_connect:  0.014
      time_appconnect:  0.000
      time_pretransfer:  0.014
      time_redirect:  0.000
    [B][I][U]  time_starttransfer:  26.158[/U][/I][/B]
      time_total:  26.158
    
    root@cloud-block-04a:~# curl -w "@curl-format.txt" -o /dev/null -s "example.com"
      time_namelookup:  0.004
      time_connect:  0.005
      time_appconnect:  0.000
      time_pretransfer:  0.006
      time_redirect:  0.000
    time_starttransfer:  0.827
      ----------
      time_total:  0.827
    
    root@cloud-block-04a:~# curl -w "@curl-format.txt" -o /dev/null -s "example.com"
      time_namelookup:  0.004
      time_connect:  0.006
      time_appconnect:  0.000
      time_pretransfer:  0.006
      time_redirect:  0.000
      time_starttransfer:  0.717
      ----------
      time_total:  0.717
    
    root@cloud-block-04a:~# curl -w "@curl-format.txt" -o /dev/null -s "example.com"
    time_namelookup:  0.004
      time_connect:  0.006
      time_appconnect:  0.000
      time_pretransfer:  0.006
      time_redirect:  0.000
    time_starttransfer:  0.734
      ----------
      time_total:  0.734
    
    root@cloud-block-04a:~# curl -w "@curl-format.txt" -o /dev/null "example.com"
      time_namelookup:  0.004
      time_connect:  0.006
      time_appconnect:  0.000
      time_pretransfer:  0.006
      time_redirect:  0.000
      time_starttransfer:  0.752
      ----------
      time_total:  0.752
    
    root@cloud-block-04a:~# curl -w "@curl-format.txt" -o /dev/null -s "example.com"
      time_namelookup:  0.004
      time_connect:  0.006
      time_appconnect:  0.000
      time_pretransfer:  0.006
      time_redirect:  0.000
      time_starttransfer:  0.735
      ----------
      time_total:  0.735
    
    root@cloud-block-04a:~# curl -w "@curl-format.txt" -o /dev/null -s "example.com"
    time_namelookup:  0.004
      time_connect:  0.006
      time_appconnect:  0.000
      time_pretransfer:  0.006
      time_redirect:  0.000
      time_starttransfer:  0.730
      ----------
      time_total:  0.730
    
    root@cloud-block-04a:~# curl -w "@curl-format.txt" -o /dev/null -s "example.com"
    time_namelookup:  0.004
    time_connect:  0.006
    time_appconnect:  0.000
    time_pretransfer:  0.006
    time_redirect:  0.000
    time_starttransfer:  0.741
      ----------
      time_total:  0.741
    
    
     
    #3 Cameron W, Jul 10, 2016
    Last edited by a moderator: Jul 10, 2016
  4. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,478
    Likes Received:
    203
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    You mention this though:
     
  5. Rajat Khanna

    Rajat Khanna Registered

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2016
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Singapore
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    I have been facing similar issues on my wordpress website installation. Is there any fix suggested for it?
     
  6. KungFuJosh

    KungFuJosh Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2016
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    USA
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Simply running W3 Total Cache isn't enough. You need to be using PHP 5.6 or PHP 5.7, with good caching, gzip support, etc...

    If you utilize W3 Total Cache along with some page speed type sites like GTmetrix, you can get a better idea of what you need to do.

    Make sure the php.ini limits aren't low for memory and such.

    Make sure you have mod_deflate, mod_expires, OPcode cache, APC (or APCu), memcache, mcrypt, etc... active. But be careful, if you have too many packages, or conflicting cache systems active it will slow your server.

    Thanks,
    Josh
     
Loading...

Share This Page