The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Working without nameservers?

Discussion in 'Bind / DNS / Nameserver Issues' started by beley, Mar 1, 2003.

  1. beley

    beley Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2003
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I'm setting up a web server for a large enterprise sized network (over 60 servers - most running Novell). They have their DNS managed through one of the Novell servers...

    So when I got Cpanel/WHM installed and opened it's asking me for a lot of nameserver information. I get the following two popups everytime I go into WHM...

    Hostname A Entry Missing
    The server was unable to lookup an an A entry for its hostname (tcssweb.troup.k12.ga.us). This is generally because the entry was never added. However this could also be the result of your nameserver(s) being down. If you would like to attempt to automaticlly add the entry, Click Here.

    and

    Resolver Setup
    This wizard will guide you though setting up your resolver configuration file (/etc/resolv.conf).

    What, if anything, do I need to configure for these? The only websites right now are on static IP's and are already in the main DNS. Also, if I wanted to create virtual sites later what would I need to do? Just poin tthem to the main server IP in the DNS server?

    Thanks for helping such a newbie - I appreciate it!
     
  2. joezeppy

    joezeppy Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2003
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hey Beley

    Hey Beley,

    I know you. Did you just get a dedicated too?

    So did I

    Joezeppy,
    Personaweb
     
  3. beley

    beley Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2003
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Not exactly... aside from my hosting business I'm a full time network / pc technician and run the web servers for a local school system - cpanel was good enough to give educational institutions a free license.
     
  4. joezeppy

    joezeppy Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2003
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Good to hear from you

    That is cool.

    Actually I like Cpanel a lot.

    I am not happy with mchost though.

    I'm migrating all of my sites out of there as time allows.

    Take Care,

    Joe
     
  5. petertdavis

    petertdavis Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2002
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    New England
    Just put the default entry into each field.
     
Loading...

Share This Page