The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Would you use WAP to manage WHM if it was available?

Discussion in 'cPanel Developers' started by stoo2000, Jun 11, 2007.

?

Is this something that you would be interested in?

  1. Yes

    29 vote(s)
    65.9%
  2. No

    7 vote(s)
    15.9%
  3. Maybe if it was un-encoded

    8 vote(s)
    18.2%
  1. stoo2000

    stoo2000 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2003
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Leicestershire, UK
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Basically guy's I created a script a while ago that creates a WAP/WML interface working via the accounting module to manage services/accounts etc.

    I'm now trying to see if there would be much interest for an advanced version making use of the new API2, and maybe including a cut-down skin version for smartphones

    The script would have to be located outside of WHM hosted on a user account.

    Is this something that you would be interested in purchasing ?
     
  2. isputra

    isputra Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2003
    Messages:
    576
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Mbelitar
  3. soundguy

    soundguy Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2003
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    seattle
    I have a wireless broadband card for my laptop which is never more than 1 room away from me. My cell phone is for phone calls and the occasional crappy photo. :D
     
  4. stoo2000

    stoo2000 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2003
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Leicestershire, UK
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Yes in the last few years, how people access the internet has changed....

    The main reason I was asking is becuase alot of phones now dont use wap (in the UK) and the wap area that comes with WHM (if it hasnt changed) was not very great imo.

    Stuart
     
  5. UniSol

    UniSol Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2004
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I think a 'lite' version would be good. My K800i handles my cpanelproxy fine :P
     
  6. stoo2000

    stoo2000 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2003
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Leicestershire, UK
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    So a good idea would be to detect whether the phone accepts normal html etc or Wml, and then either give it a cut down html version (minimal images/cssonly) and then load up the WML version for wap based phones ?
     
  7. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    #7 cPanelDavidG, Jun 22, 2007
    Last edited: Jun 22, 2007
  8. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I know on mobile platforms, the biggest problems people experience are related to the WHM interface being frames-based. Here's how you would access a non-framed version of the WHM interface:

    https://serverip:2087/scripts/command?PFILE=main

    Where serverip is your server's IP :)
     
Loading...

Share This Page