Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

"Write Failure: /etc/valiases/domain.com"

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by SNN, Mar 21, 2008.

  1. SNN

    SNN Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2007
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    56
    What could be causing this?
    "Fatal! Write Failure: /etc/valiases/mydomain.org. Ignore any messages of success this can only result in failure!"

    Sorry if it isn't specific...but I have received this on another client and can't figure out why.

    dir /etc/valiases
    Code:
    # dir /etc/valiases
    blog.massivesoft.---   irc.massivesoft.---       talkn.---
    dadopeman.---          mbb.sanmassive.---        test.massivesoft.---
    -.massivesoft.---  -.massivesoft.---  -.massivesoft.---
    
    The domain missing seems to be 'massivesoft.tld' (which is what this is referring to).

    Thanks

    EDIT: ps: I already tried chmod 4755 /etc/valiases and /etc/valiases/*
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
    #1 SNN, Mar 21, 2008
    Last edited: Mar 22, 2008
  2. jayh38

    jayh38 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2006
    Messages:
    1,215
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    In your tweak settings, you have the this box unchecked:

    "Allow Creation of Parked/Addon Domains that are not registered"
     
  3. sneader

    sneader Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2003
    Messages:
    1,154
    Likes Received:
    38
    Trophy Points:
    178
    Location:
    La Crosse, WI
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I had the same problem today with a customer. It was barking about two subdomains (that got created when adding add-on domains). The subdomains were properly resolving in DNS.

    I checked /etc/valiases/ and these subdomains were simply not there!

    To fix the problem, I just copied a working generic alias file to match the names of the files that cPanel was complaining about, giving them the same ownership and rights.

    Problem solved.

    I believe that somehow cPanel got confused when the customer was adding and deleting some addon and/or parked domains.

    - Scott
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  4. MEHDI2M

    MEHDI2M Registered

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2008
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51

    Can you tell me more for this changing

    Becuase I dont know what I was doing
     
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice