The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Wrong account creation

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Ham, Sep 16, 2005.

  1. Ham

    Ham Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2004
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Dear cPanlers,
    I searched a long time in this forum, but I can´t find an answer, so that´s the first time, I need your support.

    If I want to create a new account, everything works fine instead of create a user-password. Only with the rootpassword and its account username I can login the new account.

    to change the password by WHM take no effekts.

    After i checked up the shadow file, I see, that it marks a "*" instead of the md5-pass from the user. I can´t find a solution an I don´t know after which WHM update this function fails. (got WHM 10.6.0 cPanel 10.6.0-R215 )

    thanks for your efforts and greetings from munich,
    haM. :)
     
  2. acenetryan

    acenetryan Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2005
    Messages:
    197
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
  3. Ham

    Ham Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2004
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    no solution at the moment....

    found no solution. :confused:
    maybe there is somebody out there who can help

    greez,
    ham
     
  4. acenetryan

    acenetryan Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2005
    Messages:
    197
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
  5. bi098_s

    bi098_s Registered

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2004
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Cpanel becomes annoying with every update... Update the passwords through shell... damn...
     
  6. linux-image

    linux-image Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2004
    Messages:
    1,192
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    India
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    do an /scripts/upcp --force as root on shell.
     
  7. acenetryan

    acenetryan Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2005
    Messages:
    197
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
  8. acenetryan

    acenetryan Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2005
    Messages:
    197
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Manually running

    passwd USERNAME

    in shell seemed to set it correctly. Don't want to have to tell all customers "Don't change your password". Let me know if anyone finds a solution or can locate where the cpanel script is modifying the /etc/shadow.
     
  9. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,475
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    If you have such a repeatable problem you should log it with cPanel through your cPanel license provider so they can investigate the issue for you and provide a fix if necessary.
     
  10. acenetryan

    acenetryan Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2005
    Messages:
    197
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    From cpanel:

    The latest updates appears to have resolved this issue, as I was successfully able to create an account and login to it's cPanel after doing so.

    I would personally suggest configuring each server with md5 and shadow support, which can be done by executing 'authconfig', and selecting the aforementioned options resepectively. Without md5, your shadow passwords are generated with DES encryption, which is weak and relatively easy to crack.
     
Loading...

Share This Page