The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Wrong disk quota

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by SWR, Jan 19, 2003.

  1. SWR

    SWR Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2002
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    USA
    Okay. I think I must have used up all my Search function features. :)


    I have one domain on one server that shows an extra 150MB of disk space used.

    I've ran fixquotas and runlogs.

    I see nothing in their logs to explain.

    Can someone give me an idea where to look that would be causing this?
     
  2. AceWeb

    AceWeb Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2002
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Hi SWR,

    Yes, I saw that happening to a few domains too. It shows the quota not in a certain folder ( i.e: /home/user,) but instead it shows the quota by calculating all of the files owned by a certain user.

    In most of my cases, the end-user had an ownership of a log file or another file that was located in /var. I would start by looking there.

    Hope it helps.
     
  3. bmcpanel

    bmcpanel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2002
    Messages:
    546
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    If you have .tar files or backup files for certain accounts located on the server, then Cpanel may interpret them as using space on certain accounts and thus show an incorrect space usage. As I understand it, CPanel interprets space usage via an apache UID. Thus, you may have backup files somewhere on the server that have the same UID as one of your accounts, thus giving an increased space usage reading.

    This happened to me when I moved several backup files on one of my servers. Many people complained their space usage was incorrect. Nick told me about the UID thing. I removed the backup files and the disk quotas went back to normal. Strange.
     
  4. georgiawebpro

    georgiawebpro Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2003
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    revisit?

    I just switched hosting companies, both of which used CPanel.
    My problem is exactly as described here - the new "restored" version uses much more disc space than the back up actually is.

    You mention
    Where do I find these backup files so I can delete them?
    I've looked everywhere (I think).

    Any help would be appreciated.

    Terry
     
  5. georgiawebpro

    georgiawebpro Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2003
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    still looking...

    I'm still looking to find where these back up files are kept.
    I'm sure I've looked every where that *I* have access to on the server.
    Does the administrator have access to a different part of the server where these files are stored?
    I *need* to delete these files so my disc quotas will reflect the actual disc space used.

    Thanks,
    Terry
     
  6. shaun

    shaun Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2001
    Messages:
    698
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    San Clemente, Ca
    as root run

    find / -user <The_User_With_Files>

    ex: find / -user shaun
     
Loading...

Share This Page