The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Wrong Hostname & Wrong Port?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by trenth, Mar 21, 2010.

  1. trenth

    trenth Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hi,

    When visiting www.mywebsite.com/cpanel it takes me to batman.com.

    I changed the hostname over in WHM via basic control setup and setup hostname & even added the a-entry and now hostname.mysite.com pings but when visiting /cpanel still takes me to hostname.com

    Also, what ports are cPanel & WHM suppose to be on?
    2082 isn't on anything
    2083 is cPanel
    2087 is WHM

    How do I put WHM on 2082 & cPanel on 2083?

    Regards,
    TrentH
     
  2. trenth

    trenth Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1

    Alright whats happening now is
    hostname.domain.com:2082 pulls up cPanel
    hostname.domain.com:2086 pulls up cPanel
    ip:2082 pulls up nothing.
    ip:2083 pulls up cPanel
    ip:2086 pulls uo nothing
    ip:2087 pulls up WHM.

    Regards,
    TrentH
     
  3. trenth

    trenth Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Also in /etc/sysconfig/network the hostname keeps changing back to the wrong hostname

    and in /etc/hosts it also changes back to the wrong hostname
     
  4. madaboutlinux

    madaboutlinux Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2005
    Messages:
    1,052
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Earth
    Regarding the port issue, check the 'Redirection' options under WHM >> Tweak Settings.

    And about the hostname changing, are you on a VPS OR a Dedicated server? If you are on a VPS, you will have to ask your provider to set the hostname for you. The hostname is set from the host server and not from within the VPS.
     
  5. trenth

    trenth Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I had my VPS provider change the hostname for me.
    & I went ahead and changed the redirect options.

    And now when visiting cPanel I no longer get that invalid SSL certificate that it usually gives :)

    Thanks,
    Trent Hallmark
     
  6. Spiral

    Spiral BANNED

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2005
    Messages:
    2,023
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Your port issue is a simple setting in Tweak Settings. You are just simply forcing logins to use "SSL/TLS ports" upon connect.

    Regarding your SSL issue, you need to go into "Manage Service SSL Certificates" in WHM and replace all the certificates and then it will pickup the new hostname in all your services and fix that issue.
     
Loading...

Share This Page