The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

wrong Incoming/Outgoing server name in Mail Client Configuration?

Discussion in 'E-mail Discussions' started by stefanbc, Apr 27, 2015.

  1. stefanbc

    stefanbc Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2015
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    toronto
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi,

    In the Mail Client Configuration section of cpanel the Server name is not correct.
    I see server.mysite.com but I could only connect using just mysite.com.

    server.mysite.com is the "Current Hostname" of the server but I don't have the subdomain server enabled.

    Also why is cpanel showing that the secure connection should use the name of the server and not the name of the site? Why can't I use the name of the site?

    I attached an image to show what I am talking about


    Thank you
     

    Attached Files:

  2. 24x7ss

    24x7ss Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2014
    Messages:
    271
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    India
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Hello,

    Looking at the error it seems A record for your hostname is missing and therefore you cannot use it. As per the attachment you have set mail.domain.com to be used as incoming/outgoing mail server so I would suggest you to make sure it pings from your local machine.
     
  3. stefanbc

    stefanbc Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2015
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    toronto
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi,

    What error are you talking about?

    pinging mail.domain-on-my-server.com works but pinging server.my-server-name.com doesn't work because it just the name of the server, and I would like ti to stay that way.

    Why is Cpanel showing any information about the server for the cpanel accounts? Shouldn't Secure SSL settings be the same as non SSL, maybe different port?
     
  4. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,482
    Likes Received:
    203
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Home »Networking Setup »Change Hostname:

    Code:
    It is important to choose a hostname that you will not be using for any account. You should choose something that will be socially acceptable, as it will appear in all mail headers. Your hostname must be a FQDN. In English, a hostname should consist of a name and a domain name. All valid hostnames should have 2 dots in them. Hostnames should never begin with “www”. Hostnames should also not begin with a digit, nor end with a hyphen (“-”). 
    
    You should be able to ping your server.domain.com
     
  5. stefanbc

    stefanbc Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2015
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    toronto
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Now I can, as I added an A record for server. It says hostnames should not be used with any accounts but why does it work and why the hostname is used by Cpanel to tell users how to setup their email.

    Something is not quite right or I am missing something
     
    #5 stefanbc, Apr 28, 2015
    Last edited: Apr 28, 2015
  6. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    676
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    You can use a domain name that's added to the server as "part" of your hostname, but not as the hostname itself. For instance, if "domainA.com" is created as an account, your hostname can be "server.domainA.com", but not "domainA.com" itself.

    Thank you.
     
  7. stefanbc

    stefanbc Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2015
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    toronto
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi,

    Yes that was/is the plan, Unfortunately Cpanel says that if you want to use a secure connection when you set up your email you need to use "server.domainA.com" which doesn't exist as a subdomain. See my first image

    If I remove server the connection works. Meanwhile I created an A record for server.domainA.com to point to my ip address . This way cpanel users have at least the the correct server to connect when they set up their email.

    Also see my other post about secure emails here

    Thank you
     
  8. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    676
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    1. It's actually fetching the name that's configured for the SSL certificate in:

    "WHM Home » Service Configuration » Manage Service SSL Certificates"

    You can update the certificate name here if you want a different name provided in the interface. Or, install a SSL certificate for the domain name and ensure "Mail SNI" is enabled via "WHM >> Manage SSL Hosts".

    2. You should always setup an "A" record for the hostname of your server. It's important that it resolves to your server's IP address for a variety of reasons (e.g. remote mail servers often check this to determine if email is SPAM).

    Thank you.
     
  9. stefanbc

    stefanbc Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2015
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    toronto
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    1. I did the first part and the domain changed, Currently I only have one SSL for domainA.com, no subdomain SSL
    Not sure I should do the Mail SNI for the main domain as mail is hosted with Google. Does this setting have any effect on the other domains?
    2. I now have an A record for server.domainA.com

    Thank you
     
  10. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    676
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    You can install a certificate for the individual domain name, and ensure Mail SNI is enabled for "Manage SSL Hosts" in WHM. This won't alter any Google mail configuration, though you may want to check with Google to see which settings you should use in your email client.

    Thank you.
     
Loading...

Share This Page