The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Wrong IP address configured for hostname?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by num85, Oct 18, 2007.

  1. num85

    num85 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hi,
    I recently had linux re-installed on my server. I have set up the nameservers and hostnames since via WHM, this is not working and cpanel sends me messages saying that my selected hostname is not resolving to the correct ip. I think that this may have something to do with the ip address set to the hostname.

    I checked ip address in use and the hostname (xxx.domain.tld) is assigned my second (not main) ip. Im not sure why this is and was wondering if this could be affecting the server, if so how do I change it?

    Code:
    IMPORTANT: Do not ignore this email.
    The hostname (cirrocumulous.weblutions.co.uk) resolves to .  It should resolve to ##.###.###.###.  Please be sure to correct /etc/hosts as well as the 'A' entry in zone file for the domain.
    
    Some are all of these problems can be caused by
    /etc/resolv.conf being setup incorrectly.  Please check this file if you
    believe everything else is correct.
    
    
    You may be able to
    automaticly correct this problem by using the ' Add an A entry for your
    hostname ' under ' Dns Functions ' in your Web Host Manager
     
  2. mtindor

    mtindor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2004
    Messages:
    1,281
    Likes Received:
    37
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    inside a catfish
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Assuming:
    1. cirrocumulous.weblutions.co.ok is what you want your main machine hostname to be
    2. xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx is your main NIC IP

    Log into WHM, click Edit DNS Zone

    - edit the cirrocumulous.weblutions.co.uk zone (if it exists)
    - make sure cirrocumulous has an 'A' record and that points to xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx
    - save

    - edit weblutions.co.uk zone (if it exists)
    - make sure cirrocumulous has an 'A' record and that it points to xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx
    - save

    Make sure that in /etc/hosts your lines look something like this (and it may be different if you aren't running CentOS):

    127.0.0.1 localhost
    xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx cirrocumulous.weblutions.co.uk cirrocumulous

    Then, if it were me, I'd restart the machine - If you dont' want to do that, restart the crucial services so that they properly use the right hostnames and such.

    Mike



     
  3. num85

    num85 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hi,
    Thanks for replying, I applied the above steps but the hostname still shows as having a wrong IP address.

    Could there be something else affecting this? This may be the reason why the server is not functioning properly - none of my domains resolve properly and return 'server not found'
     
  4. mtindor

    mtindor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2004
    Messages:
    1,281
    Likes Received:
    37
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    inside a catfish
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Sorry bud, but I really couldn't be of any more help without looking - It could be a number of things, and we could go on all day passing on information when somebody logging in might find the problem in 2 seconds and be able to fix.

    If you get desperate and would like for me to log in and take a look, PM me the information.

    - Mike
     
  5. SXR1337

    SXR1337 Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2007
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hey,

    Try raising a cPanel Support ticket. They might be able to help , if the problem is cPanel.
     
Loading...

Share This Page