The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Wrong IP asignment to new WHM accounts

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by tupolev, May 30, 2005.

  1. tupolev

    tupolev Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2005
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    We have a fedora core 2 server with WHM 10.0.0 cPanel 10.1.0-R30 .

    The server has two net interfaces, eth0 and eth1. One of them has a private network ip, and the other has a public ip to the internet.

    When we create a host account in the whm system, it assigns the wrong ip, because it takes an ip from the private range by default. We want it to take a public ip, not a private. I mean, assign ip from eth0 instead of eth1.

    Where could we change the default interface to assign ips? is it possible?


    Thanks and best regards!

    tupolev - Hosting LMI team
     
    #1 tupolev, May 30, 2005
    Last edited: May 30, 2005
  2. cPanelBilly

    cPanelBilly Guest

    you said you want it to the IP from eth0 instead of eth0.
    Not sure exactly what you want but you can change the interface from edit settings in WHM
     
  3. tupolev

    tupolev Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2005
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Typing error!! ;)

    Ouch!!

    I meant I want an ip from eth0 instead of eth1. :)

    Thanks!!
     
  4. tupolev

    tupolev Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2005
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Uhmm...I found what you told me, edit setup -> alternate ethernet device.
    We have set it to eth0 but it didn't work. We set it to eth1 and neither ;(

    It keeps assigning ips like 10.10.10.x (the subnet for eth0 interface).

    We want to use eth1, which has 213.bla.blah.blah for example. Public internet ips.

    Any suggestions?

    Thanks again!
     
  5. Ver17

    Ver17 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2004
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I am having a simular issue....
     
  6. bockafer

    bockafer Registered

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2003
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
Loading...

Share This Page