The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

wrong IP in httpd.conf

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Rooney, Nov 7, 2008.

  1. Rooney

    Rooney Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    When I add a sub domain or addon domain through cpanel , corresponding virtualhost entry in httpd.conf has a wrong IP address that does not belong to this server. How can I correct it ?
     
  2. lngtanseco

    lngtanseco Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2006
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Does the IP shown at "Main Shared Virtual Host IP" correct?

    Main >> Server Configuration >> Basic cPanel/WHM Setup >> Main Shared Virtual Host IP
     
  3. Rooney

    Rooney Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    yes, thats correct :confused:
     
  4. lngtanseco

    lngtanseco Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2006
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    when you do
    Code:
    # ifconfig
    do you see the wrong IP from the result?
     
  5. Rooney

    Rooney Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    No, wrong IP is not there.

    However I found it at /var/cpanel/users/<username> . Changed it, but no luck !
     
  6. boatdesign

    boatdesign Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2003
    Messages:
    158
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I backed up accounts on old server (incremental daily), transferred the backup directory to new server, and then restored some select accounts on the new server checking the box for recreate account, restore subdomains, and default checked. However twice now on the new server after doing this I've had to check httpd.conf and find that the ip of the account on the old server has been placed into httpd.conf in at least one location instead of the new server IP... I'm not sure why it happens, but it's been a bit of a frustration.
     
Loading...

Share This Page