Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

Wrong Ownership : Backups generted through cPanel

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by sadistiko, Nov 2, 2011.

  1. sadistiko

    sadistiko Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2011
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I found this thread but it's too old to replay to it:

    I have exactly same problem. My client made full backup but he could not download it because file has root ownership. I change this time owner from root to my client user but this is not fix for this problem. Where can I say that backups have client users owner?

    Thanks in advance
     
  2. cPanelTristan

    cPanelTristan Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    7,608
    Likes Received:
    32
    Trophy Points:
    238
    Location:
    somewhere over the rainbow
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Did the client make the backup in cPanel > Backup area? If so, is the backup file going to put the account limits over quota?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. cPdans

    cPdans Member
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2011
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    126
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    A full backup performed through WHM is going to produce a backup file that is available to the server administrator and will likely need to be moved to a directory accessible to the ftp user on the cPanel account. In order for a client to generate a backup for his site, they will need to create it through cPanel. Otherwise, you will need to do exactly as you have in order to make it accessible to a non-administrative user.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  4. sadistiko

    sadistiko Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2011
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    User made it with Cpanel/backup option, and it didn't use space over quota
     
  5. cPanelTristan

    cPanelTristan Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    7,608
    Likes Received:
    32
    Trophy Points:
    238
    Location:
    somewhere over the rainbow
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Can you please submit a ticket with the user's details (cPanel login details) along with the root WHM and root SSH login details so we may try to replicate this issue in cPanel > Backup area? You can use WHM > Support Center > Contact cPanel or using the link in my signature. Please post the ticket number here upon opening one.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  6. sadistiko

    sadistiko Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2011
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I submit ticket today
     
  7. cPanelTristan

    cPanelTristan Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    7,608
    Likes Received:
    32
    Trophy Points:
    238
    Location:
    somewhere over the rainbow
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I replied to ticket 1979061 requesting the cPanel user's login details as I indicated would be needed here when you submitted the ticket so that we could login as the user to try to replicate the issue.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  8. sadistiko

    sadistiko Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2011
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Tristan tried and it works normaly now. I also tried and now everithing work normaly. It must be some anomaly
     
  9. linux7802

    linux7802 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2007
    Messages:
    232
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    68
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    May I know what was the problem? as it will save the time for many peoples in future if they face such problem :)
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  10. cPanelTristan

    cPanelTristan Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    7,608
    Likes Received:
    32
    Trophy Points:
    238
    Location:
    somewhere over the rainbow
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I believe it had to have been user error as the backup I generated had the correct ownership. If an issue cannot be reproduced, there is not a way to define how the original error occurred.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice