The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

www 14400 IN CNAME forum2share.com.

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by cLub2Share, Dec 11, 2005.

  1. cLub2Share

    cLub2Share Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2003
    Messages:
    114
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    united Arab Emirates
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    Twitter:

    The Highlighted in this line



    right know i dont make any change even if i go back to edit the Zone and i dont do anything just Save Setting this error going to show up..


    anyone have any commants about this ?

    Thankyou :)
     
  2. Izzee

    Izzee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2004
    Messages:
    469
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I think this post may get moved to the 'New Users Questions' Forums. However I will try and answer it here and then look for it elsewhere if it is moved.


    A good place to start to find out what might be wrong is to check your domain's DNS at DNS Report:
    http://www.dnsreport.com/

    From the domain name forum2share.com I see lots of errors which need to be addressed.
    The location in your sig. http://paltalk.ae does not exsist as far as the Internet is concerned.

    With some help you might get an understanding about how to set up the DNS zone records on your server. I am assuming you have a server or you are a reseller with DNS Zone edit permissions.

    CNAME may be changed to A.
    Here is an example of what it should look like perhaps if you have an NS record in your zone file.

    fphpz.com. IN A xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx (should be its shared or dedicated IP)
    www 14400 IN A xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx (should be its shared or dedicated IP)

    So lets look at a whole 'standard' zone file template example (the refresh rates might differ from server to server and is a personal preference based on info from DNS Report:

    ; cPanel %cpversion%
    ; Zone file for %domain%
    $TTL %ttl%
    @ IN SOA %nameserver%. admin.domainname.com. (
    %serial% ; serial, todays date+todays
    7200 ; refresh, seconds
    7200 ; retry, seconds
    1209600 ; expire, seconds
    86400 ) ; minimum, seconds

    %domain%. IN NS %nameserver%.
    %domain%. IN NS %nameserver2%.
    %domain%. IN NS %nameserver3%.
    %domain%. IN NS %nameserver4%.

    %domain%. IN A %ip%

    localhost.%domain%. IN A 127.0.0.1

    %domain%. IN MX 0 %put your host name here%.

    mail IN A %ip%
    www IN A %ip%
    ftp IN A %ip%


    Now in Edit DNS Zone in WHM the data should have been substitued automagically between the % % with your own relevant data.

    If not or you used a different template or you messed up the original one just subsititue between the % % with your own data But drop bpth % % they only place holders.
    %domain%. = fphpz.com. (don't miss out the dots as indicated)
    %ip% = xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx (no dot)
    %nameserver%. = ns1.your_nameserver's_domain_name.com. (don't miss the dot)
    etc.etc.
    Get the idea?

    One more thing, contact your data center and have them set up reverse look up (PTR) for your server. This, if not set, may restrict some email operations.

    Post back if there is anything that is not clear to you or PM me if you feel you require some degree of privacy with your data - no charge :)
    :)
     
    #2 Izzee, Dec 11, 2005
    Last edited: Dec 11, 2005
  3. simplestar

    simplestar Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    This fix actually came from other cPanel users and it worked for me.

    First you can initiate this comman in shell
    1. /scripts/fixndc

    then dig your mx and read what it says
    2. #dig mx domain.com

    If not, go to your main WHM cPanel, scroll down to 'Fix/Update Perl' and input the following
    into the line:
    3. /usr/local/cpanel/Cpanel/Form.pm

    This will either fix or install the needed Perl to correct the DNS resolve issue.

    Good Luck
     
Loading...

Share This Page