The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

WWW cloak?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Bigdrago, Feb 26, 2011.

  1. Bigdrago

    Bigdrago Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hello.

    I have a parked domain on my cpanel. How can I cloak-forwarding my parked domain to another address? And I want all the subdomains on the parked domain to be forwarded to.
     
  2. vanessa

    vanessa Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Messages:
    817
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Virginia Beach, VA
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    The parked domain should automatically load up the site it is parked on top of, without redirecting. In other words, if you have domain.com as your primary domain and domain.net as the parked domain, going to domain.net should load up domain.com, but still show domain.net in the address bar. Of course, if you are using software (generally of the PHP variety, like Wordpress or Joomla), there may be a domain dependency there that could be causing redirection.
     
  3. Bigdrago

    Bigdrago Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I have redirected domain.net to domain.com/folder
    I would also like to redirect test.domain.net to domain.com/folder
     
  4. cPanelJared

    cPanelJared Technical Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2010
    Messages:
    1,842
    Likes Received:
    18
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Redirecting a parked domain will normally cause an error if you try to add the redirect in the cPanel interface. This is not the intended use of parked domains. Parked domains are ServerAlias entries in the httpd.conf file, and trying to redirect a parked domain to its main domain will cause a redirect loop.

    Instead of trying to redirect a parked domain, remove the parked domain and add the domain back to the account as an addon domain. You can redirect an addon domain without a problem, and in fact an option to create a redirect is present in the addon domain interface in cPanel! Please read the following section of our documentation for a complete description of addon domains:

    Addon Domains

    From what you have said so far, an addon domain with redirection would be a much better answer to your question than trying to redirect a parked domain.
     
  5. ! am bond

    ! am bond Guest

    you can redirect all folders and files through htaccess, but to be able to redirect subdomain you might need to make changes to htaccess of that subdomain. i don't know if there's any trick to do that, if there's an option to set universal 404/ 301 that could be the trick
     
  6. cPanelJared

    cPanelJared Technical Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2010
    Messages:
    1,842
    Likes Received:
    18
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    For basic redirects, you can use the Redirects interface in cPanel without needing to directly edit an .htaccess file.

    Redirects

    Note that, as I mentioned in my previous post, trying to redirect a parked domain to its "parent" domain will cause a redirect loop, because a parked domain is not its own virtual host, but rather an alias to an existing virtual host. Instead, an addon domain should be used, and the redirect option in the addon domains interface in cPanel can be used to create the redirect.

    Addon Domains
     
  7. Bigdrago

    Bigdrago Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hello.

    I have a parked domain.

    Then domain mydomain.com have been forwarded to otherdomain.com/folder

    How can I cloak this forward? I want mydomain.com to show as the URL.

    I think I have to do something with mod_rewrite in .htaccess

    Here is my .htaccess :

    RewriteEngine on

    RewriteCond %{HTTP_HOST} ^domain.com$ [OR]
    RewriteCond %{HTTP_HOST} ^www.domain.com$
    RewriteRule ^(.*)$ "http\:\/\/www\.otherdomain\.com\/folder\/$1" [R=301,L]
     
  8. Bigdrago

    Bigdrago Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    E-mail forwarding and WWW forwarding isn't working in WHM

    See post 1
     
    #8 Bigdrago, Mar 2, 2011
    Last edited: Mar 2, 2011
  9. cPanelTristan

    cPanelTristan Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    7,623
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    somewhere over the rainbow
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi Bigdrago,

    I have moved your new post into the previously started thread on this topic.

    Is there a reason you do not want to use an addon domain and need to do this with a parked domain? Does your host not allow addon domains or have you reached the maximum number of addon domains on the account?

    Please let us know why you would keep asking how to perform this function when having the domain as an addon domain would be better than a parked domain.

    Thanks.
     
  10. Bigdrago

    Bigdrago Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hello.

    Sorry for the double post, I forgot that I posted the first post :p

    I have sent an mail to my host to ask to add the domain as add-on. Will it still work with email forward etc for the add-on domain?
     
  11. cPanelTristan

    cPanelTristan Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    7,623
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    somewhere over the rainbow
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi Bigdrago,

    If you have the domain as an addon domain rather than a parked domain, you can still have email forwarders on it. You can manage any domain or subdomain on the account that exists there for email services, which includes creating forwarders.

    Thanks.
     
  12. Bigdrago

    Bigdrago Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I got an answer from my webhost. They don't support addon domain, they only support parked domain.
    I find this strange.
     
Loading...

Share This Page