The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

www.domain.com is working, domain.com is not

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by thernes, Aug 12, 2007.

  1. thernes

    thernes Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2001
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Bodo, Norway
    Hi

    Not sure if this is the right spot for this. If not please move to right forum.

    Anwyay, I'm having a problem with the configuration of one domain. the www.domain.com works just fine, but if I enter domain.com I only get the cpanel page, "Great Success !
    Apache is working on your cPanel® and WHM™ Server"

    Now, I'm guessing this is either because of my dns setup or httpd.conf setup is somehow faulty. Could anybody give me a hint what to look for or how to solve this?

    thanks,

    T
     
    #1 thernes, Aug 12, 2007
    Last edited: Aug 12, 2007
  2. ddeans

    ddeans Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2004
    Messages:
    296
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Maryland
    You have created this "www.domain.com" account in WHM right?
     
  3. thernes

    thernes Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2001
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Bodo, Norway
    Yes, and it was working just fine until I moved the account to a new server.
     
  4. koolcards

    koolcards Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2003
    Messages:
    146
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Tampa, Fl
    Look for both statements in the 'VirtualHost' container for that domain in your httpd.conf:

    ServerName www.YourDomain.com
    ServerAlias YourDomain.com


    The order doesn't matter as long as both exist.


    Check your DNS zone file for the domain for either an "A" record or a "CNAME" record for the "www" in that domain. Oops, it must exist or the www.YourDomain.com wouldn't work :/
     
  5. thernes

    thernes Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2001
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Bodo, Norway
    hmmm..I now notice that www.domain.com points to my new IP while domain.com points to my old ip. Better check those DNS records.
     
  6. thernes

    thernes Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2001
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Bodo, Norway
    well...*laughing*...sometimes it's also useful to check the host-file on your local windows PC. I mnaully edited the hostfile the last time I moved the domain, so that my computer would "maually" resolve it and had forgotten to remove the entry from the host file :rolleyes:
     
  7. roman

    roman Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Cache'd entries in the name server you are using can also cause such things.. :)
     
Loading...

Share This Page