The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

www.domain.com works fine, non-www does not

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by wledbetter, Jun 11, 2008.

  1. wledbetter

    wledbetter Registered

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2007
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    So I get cPanel installed and it appears to be running right.

    When I open www.mydomain.com in my browser, it displays the name based site without error.

    When I go to just mydomain.com(no www subdomain), it routes to the assigned IP address, and displays cPanel default page.(Great success!, etc etc)

    Notes:

    DNS is set up for:

    mydomain.com IN A xx.xx.xxx.xx
    www.mydomain.com IN A xx.xx.xxx.xx

    domain is registered at yahoo, using their nameservers.

    mydomain.com is not the first domain configured in WHM. It shares the servers main(and only) IP with myothercompletelynonworkingdomain.com

    I've upcp --forced, and I recompiled/restarted apache.

    What am I missing??

    Thanks,

    David
     
  2. wledbetter

    wledbetter Registered

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2007
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    not sure if this would be the correct fix or not. But going to Modify an Account in WHM, and increasing the parked and add-on domains limits to >1 seems to have worked. I can go to both mydomain.com and www.mydomain.com...

    go fig
     
  3. docbreed

    docbreed Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2005
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    That is crazy... I just today added a new account to new dedicated ip and installed ssl ticket to this domain. For test i was able to access www.domain.com but not domain.com just like you did.

    the httpd.conf looked fine and dns record was fine as well. I increased park domain on account from 0 to 1 and then it worked. I wonder if i have other accounts not properly working now. :(


    cPanel 11.24.4-C32603 - WHM 11.24.2 - X 3.9
    CENTOS 5.2 i686 on standard

    UPDATE: I just re modified and placed park domains back to 0 and the domain works fine all around.
     
  4. ipchanger

    ipchanger Registered

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I am having the same problem. I changed a site's IP address and www. does not work. The IP settings now read different between mydomain.com and www.mydomain.com. I do not have any parked domains in cPanel so I don't have the option to change to >1. Any ideas on how to fix this?
     
  5. david510

    david510 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2004
    Messages:
    473
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    See if this works, if yes, wait for some time. It should be a dns issue.

    dig @server_IP domain.com

    dif @server_IP www.domain.com
     
  6. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Feel welcome to let our technical analysts take a look at this issue: http://tickets.cPanel.net/submit
     
Loading...

Share This Page