Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

www.domain.com works fine, non-www does not

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by wledbetter, Jun 11, 2008.

  1. wledbetter

    wledbetter Registered

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2007
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    So I get cPanel installed and it appears to be running right.

    When I open www.mydomain.com in my browser, it displays the name based site without error.

    When I go to just mydomain.com(no www subdomain), it routes to the assigned IP address, and displays cPanel default page.(Great success!, etc etc)

    Notes:

    DNS is set up for:

    mydomain.com IN A xx.xx.xxx.xx
    www.mydomain.com IN A xx.xx.xxx.xx

    domain is registered at yahoo, using their nameservers.

    mydomain.com is not the first domain configured in WHM. It shares the servers main(and only) IP with myothercompletelynonworkingdomain.com

    I've upcp --forced, and I recompiled/restarted apache.

    What am I missing??

    Thanks,

    David
     
  2. wledbetter

    wledbetter Registered

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2007
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    not sure if this would be the correct fix or not. But going to Modify an Account in WHM, and increasing the parked and add-on domains limits to >1 seems to have worked. I can go to both mydomain.com and www.mydomain.com...

    go fig
     
  3. docbreed

    docbreed Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2005
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    156
    That is crazy... I just today added a new account to new dedicated ip and installed ssl ticket to this domain. For test i was able to access www.domain.com but not domain.com just like you did.

    the httpd.conf looked fine and dns record was fine as well. I increased park domain on account from 0 to 1 and then it worked. I wonder if i have other accounts not properly working now. :(


    cPanel 11.24.4-C32603 - WHM 11.24.2 - X 3.9
    CENTOS 5.2 i686 on standard

    UPDATE: I just re modified and placed park domains back to 0 and the domain works fine all around.
     
  4. ipchanger

    ipchanger Registered

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    I am having the same problem. I changed a site's IP address and www. does not work. The IP settings now read different between mydomain.com and www.mydomain.com. I do not have any parked domains in cPanel so I don't have the option to change to >1. Any ideas on how to fix this?
     
  5. david510

    david510 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2004
    Messages:
    473
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    See if this works, if yes, wait for some time. It should be a dns issue.

    dig @server_IP domain.com

    dif @server_IP www.domain.com
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  6. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,216
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    313
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Feel welcome to let our technical analysts take a look at this issue: http://tickets.cPanel.net/submit
     
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice