The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

www good, without www no good?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Secret Agent, Dec 1, 2004.

  1. Secret Agent

    Secret Agent Guest

    Dont' know why, but when viewing a site it works with www but not without www, and below is the httpd.conf piece for this domain. Any ideas?

    The dns zone is fine, setup by cpanel default, not modified at all.

    <VirtualHost xxx.32.69.66>
    ServerAlias www.domain.net domain.net
    ServerAdmin webmaster@domain.net
    DocumentRoot /home/username/public_html
    BytesLog domlogs/domain.net-bytes_log
    ServerName www.domain.net
    ScriptAlias /cgi-bin/ /home/username/public_html/cgi-bin/
    <IfModule mod_userdir.c>
    Userdir disabled
    Userdir enabled username
    </IfModule>
    <IfModule mod_php4.c>
    php_admin_value open_basedir "/home/username:/usr/lib/php:/usr/local/lib/php:/tmp"
    </IfModule>
    User username
    Group username
    CustomLog domlogs/domain.net combined
    </VirtualHost>
     
  2. sawbuck

    sawbuck Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2004
    Messages:
    1,367
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Try "ServerAlias domain.net www.domain.net"
     
  3. PWSowner

    PWSowner Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2001
    Messages:
    2,948
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    ON, Canada
    Any chance the www symlink in /home/username/ is missing?
     
  4. Secret Agent

    Secret Agent Guest

    How do I check that exactly?
     
  5. Secret Agent

    Secret Agent Guest

    its already there in second line
     
  6. sawbuck

    sawbuck Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2004
    Messages:
    1,367
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Was talking about the reverse of what you posted and check what Squirrel said also.
     
  7. PWSowner

    PWSowner Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2001
    Messages:
    2,948
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    ON, Canada
    FTP to the account and you should see
    etc
    mail
    public_ftp
    public_html
    tmp
    and the symbolic link www

    If you see the www, double click on it and see if it puts you into the public_html folder.
     
  8. Secret Agent

    Secret Agent Guest

    Thanks for help, i see www directory and yes it takes me in to the public_html area as it seems. Also, chmodded at 777, is this default?
     
  9. Secret Agent

    Secret Agent Guest

    sorry to bump but can someone help?
     
  10. sawbuck

    sawbuck Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2004
    Messages:
    1,367
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Yes to 777. Have you tried reversing the ServerAlias entries? What about /etc/rc.d/init.d/httpd configtest - any errors? You can post or PM the domain name to be checked by someone not local to you.
     
  11. Secret Agent

    Secret Agent Guest

    /etc/rc.d/init.d/httpd configtest

    no errors

    I reversed the entry in httpd.conf

    works! No idea why but it does

    Thank you all for your efforts :)
     
  12. PWSowner

    PWSowner Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2001
    Messages:
    2,948
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    ON, Canada
    That's weird. My entries are the same order as your original one, "ServerAlias www.domain.net domain.net", but I'm glad to hear it's working now.
     
Loading...

Share This Page