The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

www, mail and other subdomains don't always work

Discussion in 'E-mail Discussions' started by WebmastTroy, Jun 4, 2003.

  1. WebmastTroy

    WebmastTroy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2002
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I'm not the only one with this problem on my machine.

    During random times throughout the day, I am unable to visit sites on my server using WWW in the address bar. When I get a 404, I take the www off and it works fine. After I wait about 20 minutes or so, it'll begin to work again.

    This is the same for my email. For about a 4 hour period, I was unable to check (on average) 2 of my email accounts (14 setup through Outlook) because it couldn't find mail.______.com (about 8 different domains)

    I'm completely lost. Paul from CPanel calls the problem "strange" which has helped me out a lot.

    I get 5 complaints a day from people unable to access their mail, subdomains on their sites, etc. and it's getting old. AOL dialup, Juno dialup, Comcast, Charter, RoadRunner, Verizon DSL....don't matter....all have problems.


    :confused:

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  2. perlchild

    perlchild Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2002
    Messages:
    279
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Sounds like your dns is overloaded or is offering otherwise intermittent service. Do you have an off-network secondary dns? Is the data there kept in sync? Check the SOA values...

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  3. jamesbond

    jamesbond Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2002
    Messages:
    738
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Check if you have A-records for your nameservers.

    If your nameservers are :
    ns1.nameserver.com
    ns2.nameserver.com

    Then check the nameserver.com zone file and see if ns1 and ns2 are listed as A-records.
    If not, add them.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  4. WebmastTroy

    WebmastTroy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2002
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Nothing.

    I've got the nameserver IPs as A-names on the main domain.

    Example domain that I just got a call regarding a complaint that 'www' isn't working. (Removed actual domain and replaced with 'clientdomain' and my hostname's domain as 'mydomain')

    Code:
    ; cPanel 5.x
    ; Zone file for clientdomain
    @    14400   IN      SOA     198.64.189.7. root.www01.mydomain.com. (
                            1054337420      ; serial, todays date+todays
                            28800           ; refresh, seconds
                            7200            ; retry, seconds
                            3600000         ; expire, seconds
                            86400 )         ; minimum, seconds
    
    clientdomain. 14400 IN NS 198.64.189.7.
    clientdomain. 14400 IN NS 198.64.189.67.
    clientdomain. 14400 IN A 198.64.189.7
    
    localhost.clientdomain.   14400    IN A       127.0.0.1
    
    clientdomain. 14400 IN MX 0 clientdomain.
    
    mail    14400        IN CNAME    clientdomain.
    www     14400        IN CNAME    clientdomain.
    ftp     14400        IN A    198.64.189.7
    
    See anything wrong with that? I don't know exactly what was done but the .67 IP was removed from my machine and added to another one where a DNS proxy was setup which I was told should have fixed it but hasn't. This was done just within the last week or so. I had the problems about a month before that and continue to today.

    Any help or thoughts are appreciated. I can't get an intelligent response from anyone at CPanel so I'm running out of options.

    The only thing that /var/log/messages shares thats even remotely related to DNS is:

    which appears to be spam. :)

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  5. nemish

    nemish Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1

    Man You Zone file is wrong.
    The only reason periods go at the end is to not append a domain name.
    But with the case of IP Addresses this isn't correct.
    Code:
    clientdomain. 14400 IN NS 198.64.189.7.
    
    should be
    Code:
    clientdomain. 14400 IN NS 198.64.189.7
    
    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  6. WebmastTroy

    WebmastTroy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2002
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I guess assuming that CPanel/Darkorb knew what they were doing was pretty dumb on my part....

    I'll give this a try and see if it fixes it. The few domains I have received complaints about all seem to have something wrong with them regarding the stray period.

    Hopefully this fixes it.

    Thanks. :)

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
Loading...

Share This Page