The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

www. prefix for SSL???

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Web_Rob, May 16, 2007.

  1. Web_Rob

    Web_Rob Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2006
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    In my cPanel I generated a CSR for an SSL. I then went through the GeoTrust Radip SSL form on The Planet and purchased a certificate. Now when someone goes to my site they get a domain name mis-match. Orders for my domain go through www.modernhq.com but the certificate is for modernhq.com.

    I went into cPanel to see if I could configure it and I can not. I talked to Tech Support and they said I have to regenerate a CSR with the www. prefix but I can not do that in cPanel. What can I do?
     
  2. Kailash1

    Kailash1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2006
    Messages:
    252
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    You need to generate the CSR kwy with www and then you have to purchase the new certificate.

    Thanks,

    Kailash
     
  3. PWSowner

    PWSowner Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2001
    Messages:
    2,948
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    ON, Canada
    www.domain.com and domain.com are 2 different URLs and therefore the SSL certificate has to be for the one you want.
     
  4. sehh

    sehh Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2006
    Messages:
    579
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Europe
    Indeed, when you buy a certificate, the domain must match exactly, so:

    domain.com is != www.domain.com

    BUT

    you may buy a wildcard certificate which means that:

    *.domain.com is == www.domain.com, whatever.domain.com, etc.domain.com

    warning: wildcard domain names cost more.
     
  5. jack01

    jack01 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2004
    Messages:
    200
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Well, in the SSL Manager under 'Generate a New Certificate Signing Request' I am seeing only 'domain.com' and NOT 'www.domain.com' in the drop-down selector..... How do I fix it so that both option are displayed?

    Anyone?
     
  6. jack01

    jack01 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2004
    Messages:
    200
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I still have this issue, does anyone else know what I'm talking about
     
  7. mtindor

    mtindor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2004
    Messages:
    1,279
    Likes Received:
    36
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    inside a catfish
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    If you are doing this via Cpanel (and not WHM):

    Go to SSL/TLS Manager
    - then click on Generate, view, upload, or delete your private keys under Private Keys
    - Scroll down to where it says Generate a New Key
    - instead of selecting an existing domain, type in a host such as:

    www.yourdomain.com

    - Then click Generate

    Then go back to the main SSL/TLS Manager page
    - Then click Generate, view, or delete SSL certificate signing requests under Certificate Signing Requests (CSR)

    Now www.domain.com should show up there for you to generate the CSR

    mike
     

    Attached Files:

    #7 mtindor, Jul 31, 2007
    Last edited: Jul 31, 2007
  8. jack01

    jack01 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2004
    Messages:
    200
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Top class, I appreciate you taking the time to make that clear! :)

    Thank you.
     
  9. mtindor

    mtindor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2004
    Messages:
    1,279
    Likes Received:
    36
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    inside a catfish
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Jack,

    You're welcome. Also, I believe [but am not positive] that if you set up an SSL cert via a customer's Cpanel interface, once you get the cert back and install it you'll then have to have the web host [or yourself if you are the webhost] actually go in and install it via WHM. My understanding is that once you have the cert uploaded in Cpanel, this does not actually make the cert active on the website. That'd need to be done via WHM. I could be wrong, and/or maybe this has changed in Cpanel 11.

    Mike
     
  10. jack01

    jack01 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2004
    Messages:
    200
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    mtindor,

    Thanks for the heads-up....time will tell
     
Loading...

Share This Page