The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

WYSIWYG editor in IE6 corrupts file

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by darlingcreative, May 20, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. darlingcreative

    darlingcreative Registered

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2004
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    When I edit the index file in IE6 witht eh WYSIYG editor, erroneous charchters appear, specifically a capital A with a ^ over it. It does not happen with Netscape. ANy clues?

    Here is the page:

    http://www.dcgtest.biz

    Thanks in advance!
     
  2. nickn

    nickn Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2003
    Messages:
    619
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    What version of cPanel are you using? They put a new WYSIWYG editor in as of very recently (only in EDGE)

    The current version is useless.
     
  3. darlingcreative

    darlingcreative Registered

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2004
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    No help!

    I upgraded to the latest cPanel version and no help!

    The erroneous characters still appear.

    WEIRD!!!
     
  4. darlingcreative

    darlingcreative Registered

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2004
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    No help!

    I upgraded to the latest cPanel version and no help!

    The erroneous characters still appear.

    WEIRD!!!
     
  5. myusername

    myusername Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2003
    Messages:
    691
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    chown -R us.*yourbase*
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Twitter:
    To the Latest EDGE version?
     
  6. web12

    web12 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2002
    Messages:
    240
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    This problem is still around in 9.4.1-RELEASE 64

    Has anyone actually put a ticket in about this?
     
  7. markus

    markus Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2004
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Has this been fixed as I still see it in ours.. is it http://www.wysiwygpro.com and is it upgradeable ? How do we get rid of A with ^ etc?
     
  8. web12

    web12 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2002
    Messages:
    240
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    According to the changelog, this was fixed in the latest Edge version. Should be in release and stable soon hopefully.
     
  9. markus

    markus Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2004
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    ok so "edge" version means what exactly?? the latest version.. sorry if this sounds like a dumb question? Is there any other fixes to this or do u have to upgrade everything? Is there a spot where you can read about the latest version and what fixes were made somewhere on the web before you install them?

    Thanks for the help.
     
  10. gorilla

    gorilla Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2004
    Messages:
    699
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Sydney / Australia
    http://changelog.cpanel.net
     
    #10 gorilla, Oct 7, 2004
    Last edited: May 20, 2006
  11. Sheldon

    Sheldon Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2004
    Messages:
    378
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Canada
    update to Current version.... :P

    stable = old!

    and stable != stable
     
  12. livesol

    livesol Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2006
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    We are having the same A with a ^ on top, among other characters. It happens whether we use IE or Firefox.

    Is there a fix, and if so, what is it? This problem renders the Html editor facility useless, which is a shame, because it would be great for our customers to use.

    Ant help would be much appreciated :)
     
  13. chae

    chae Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2003
    Messages:
    145
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Auckland, New Zealand
    We're running the latest Current version and have had several customers chew our ears over the last few days because they cannot use the Editor now. These are customers who have happily updated their sites over the last year or so without a problem and now they're getting the funny characters and even images causing issues.

    We can't switch over a production server to Edge in the hope that it resolves the issue, this needs to be addressed by the developers ASAP.
     
  14. PWSowner

    PWSowner Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2001
    Messages:
    2,948
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    ON, Canada
    Didn't need to resurrect this old thread when a newer one is going.
    http://forums.cpanel.net/showthread.php?t=53066

    That edge solution was for the problem 1½ years ago. I don't think the current problem is fixed yet. We're on Cpanel 10.8.2-C92 and have the same problem. We have a few users who are a bit annoyed too. They use it for their updates regularly.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page