The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

x & x2

Discussion in 'User Experience' started by bonnmac, Jul 16, 2003.

  1. bonnmac

    bonnmac Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2003
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I don't know if it's just me but... They appear to be missing icons? I can' quite figure out what's missing though.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  2. bert

    bert Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2001
    Messages:
    602
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    LOL

    It would help if you would be a little bit more specific ;)

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  3. bonnmac

    bonnmac Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2003
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Sorry bout that Bert. Are they supposed to be slimmed down versions of Xskin? I've attached a screen shot of x. x2 looks the same except for the top banner.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     

    Attached Files:

    • x.gif
      x.gif
      File size:
      16.4 KB
      Views:
      164
  4. XPerties

    XPerties Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2003
    Messages:
    401
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    New Jersey, USA
    yes same here. Be nice if they could group the icons to look a little more professional.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  5. casey

    casey Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2003
    Messages:
    2,303
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    If there is trouble, it will find me
    Well, I guess we're not beggars anymore, since xskins are included in cPanel. So I'm going to join in on this one and agree. It would be nice if there were not blank spaces that look like functions are missing. Customers are going to be wondering what they don't have access to.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  6. kosmo

    kosmo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2001
    Messages:
    403
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    All over Europe
    Bert, Nick,

    maybe it would be better to remove the right table grid and instead:
    - use the right big cell in a fixed width (say w=300)
    - add fixed width tables (say w=60) for the individual menu items. I am pretty sure they will break when the cell width is reached (didn't try it though) and you will eliminate the missing icons problem.

    kosmo

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  7. bert

    bert Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2001
    Messages:
    602
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Hmmmm. I don't quite understand what you guys are talking about. If you remove options from WHM's feature manager, then icons will be removed from x, it's that simple. The more options you eliminate, the more icons that will be removed.

    There is really no way to make x look nice and organized when you remove icons.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  8. kosmo

    kosmo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2001
    Messages:
    403
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    All over Europe
    EDIT: Nope, it doesn't work <sigh>

    Bert,

    exactly this we are talking about. Replace this:
    with this:

     
    #8 kosmo, Jul 17, 2003
    Last edited: Jul 17, 2003
  9. XPerties

    XPerties Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2003
    Messages:
    401
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    New Jersey, USA
    see the hole next to cron jobs...

    This is my account on my server. I am not missing any settings or features...

    That's what were talking about

    http://www.xperties.net/cpanel.jpg

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  10. MySundown

    MySundown Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2003
    Messages:
    128
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Yeah, I hate those gaps :(

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  11. bert

    bert Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2001
    Messages:
    602
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    It depends on how you look at it. Many people like to have the icons left-justified, some other people like to have the icons centered.

    XPerties, the "hole" is because you don't have shell access enabled for that account ;)

    I'll see what we can do...

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  12. XPerties

    XPerties Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2003
    Messages:
    401
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    New Jersey, USA
    Bert, No disrespect but I think you need glasses...

    Please look at the edit shot of the same one above...I clearly marked it for you.

    So why is the gap there? And as I said it is my account on MY SERVER, everything is enabled.

    http://www.xperties.net/cpanel2.jpg

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  13. bert

    bert Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2001
    Messages:
    602
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I am definetely blind. Kosmo, the code you are showing renders tables on top of each other as opposed to next to each other.

    Could you guys elaborate a little more on this? I guess I am not having a nice day :rolleyes:

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  14. XPerties

    XPerties Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2003
    Messages:
    401
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    New Jersey, USA
    elaborate on the empty spot?

    If so I don't know what more to elaborate on. When the update to xskins 2.1 happen the empty spot appeared.

    So something was changed. I just like to see all the icons placed nicely together for a account that has everything enabled.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  15. bert

    bert Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2001
    Messages:
    602
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    It is weird indeed because I don't have those empty slots. See attached screenshot.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     

    Attached Files:

  16. bert

    bert Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2001
    Messages:
    602
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    You must have Interchange disabled, that's why the 7th row shows the empty space.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  17. XPerties

    XPerties Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2003
    Messages:
    401
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    New Jersey, USA
    AHHH HA!!!!!!!

    Interchange...Forgot that is disabled in WHM for all accounts.

    Problem solved......

    /me sits in dumb corner:D




    ***edit*** We posted at same time
     
  18. SoftmegUK

    SoftmegUK Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Messages:
    372
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    UK
    Hmmm I wonder if using a bit of javascript it would make is possible not to have the missing holes at all for people who disable stuff.... hmmm

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  19. bert

    bert Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2001
    Messages:
    602
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    There are obviously ways to do it, but I don't see that as being a big deal. There are just too many possibilities and combinations depending on what is disabled. It is literally impossible to make it always look right.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  20. XPerties

    XPerties Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2003
    Messages:
    401
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    New Jersey, USA
    and I thought you were good?

    hahahaha, Just kidding bert!

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     

Share This Page