The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

x3 Uploaded brand images being changed by cpanel?

Discussion in 'User Experience' started by slim, Feb 27, 2011.

  1. slim

    slim Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2004
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Australia
    When I upload a new top-billboard.jpg image into the x3 template its size gets adjusted by two pixels by cpanel. It also compresses the image so that it doesnt look as good as the original im trying to upload.

    Example: The original file is JPG 742px Wide x 145px high

    When I upload this file into the template, cPanel changed the file to 744x 147.

    This is incredibly frustrating as it makes my image look crap.

    Has anyone seen this behavior before? Does anyone know what I should do?
     
  2. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,474
    Likes Received:
    202
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    What happens when you upload a new image indentical in size to the original that you are replacing?
     
  3. slim

    slim Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2004
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Australia
    That's the strange part - I am uploading an image exactly the same size as the one im replacing. When I do this, the cpanel modifies the image I upload to the other size mentioned in my first post.

    cpanelbranding1.png

    When I upload the replacement image (with those exact dimensions) cPanel resizes the image to 744x 147.
     
  4. slim

    slim Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2004
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Australia
    Anyone have any clues? Surely there are hundreds of you that have replaced the images in cPanel and found that cpanel resizes the image slightly?
     
  5. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,474
    Likes Received:
    202
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    I'm not sure I follow you on this. Question, is your relacement image a jpg?

    I saved your screenshot, cropped it to the correct size and replaced my top-billboard.jpg with that image.

    What happens when you upload your image those changed dimensions? 744x 147
     

    Attached Files:

  6. slim

    slim Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2004
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Australia
    Ok, To clarify - I have attached the original image supplied by cPanel...

    This image is 742x145 @ 96 pix/inch

    The modified image (with my logo blurred) is exactly the same size.

    When I use the upload button in the theme manager to replace the original image with my new image when I look at the theme after its uploaded the image, the image doesn't look the same - I have saved it and attached to this post (cpanel saved version)

    The cpanel saved version (which is what appears in my clients cpanels) is now 744x147 @ 96 px/inch.

    Its a different size - and due to cpanel resizing the image its a little blurry compared to the original - thou this is harder to see in the attached versions due to the allready blurred logo!
     

    Attached Files:

  7. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,474
    Likes Received:
    202
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    I suppose the simple answer is, edit the top-header-bg.jpg to match your top-billboard.jpg

    The word variable under the width column for this image is there for a reason and that top-header-bg.jpg is used for filler. I can't explain the reasoning its done this way or why it does not leave the image as is, thats uploaded. You could dig into the theme code and figure out another way to do it I'm sure. But the easy answer is surely to make that filler image match and you'd be good.
     
  8. slim

    slim Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2004
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Australia
    Your missing my point - The image is scaled - not to aspect and then re0compressed (poorly) - so it doesn't look as good as it should. Infact, it looks unprofessional. Maybe I should submit a ticket?
     
Loading...

Share This Page