Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

Xioerror

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by djeffs, Mar 24, 2005.

  1. djeffs

    djeffs Registered

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2005
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Location:
    Salt Lake City, Utah
    Greetings,

    I have installed the latest version of cPanel and after the install I booted the system and X did not restart. Upon looking in the /var/log/messages file I see the following error:

    GDM_slave_xioerror_handler: Fatal X error - Restarting :0

    This continues until I boot the box.

    The RedHat ES 3 and cPanel updates are at the latest levels.

    Any Ideas?

    Thanks,
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  2. webignition

    webignition Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2005
    Messages:
    1,880
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    As far as I understand Cpanel won't operate on a server with a GUI running, which means you'd have to disable X in some way.

    Sorry I can't say more than that as that is all I know and I've never managed a server with a GUI.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. dave9000

    dave9000 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2003
    Messages:
    891
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    arkansas
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    seems like i remember reading that cpanel install will disable X
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  4. dgbaker

    dgbaker Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2002
    Messages:
    2,574
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    193
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario Canada
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. dave9000

    dave9000 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2003
    Messages:
    891
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    arkansas
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Thanks dg

    I knew I had read that somewhere but getting old and the mind is not quite what it used to be :D
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  6. djeffs

    djeffs Registered

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2005
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Location:
    Salt Lake City, Utah
    Thanks for the response. I can easily change inittab to default to runlevel three. That way X isn't attempted to start in the future.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  7. Pan European

    Pan European Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2005
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    You can still use the gui on redhat using a remote terminal through vnc

    vncserver -geometry 1024x768
    from the CLI

    Download vnc from http://www.realvnc.com
     

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice