The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Yet another cPanel typo

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by jols, May 9, 2006.

  1. jols

    jols Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2004
    Messages:
    1,111
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    I suppose I should be submitting bugzilla reports. But just incase anyone is confused by this, then the Web Management ---> backup utility:

    This:

    Backup Destination: remove FTP Server (Passive mode transfer)

    Should be:

    Backup Destination: REMOTE FTP Server (Passive mode transfer)
     
  2. AndyReed

    AndyReed Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    May 29, 2004
    Messages:
    2,222
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Minneapolis, MN
    A very good catch :D
    Just in case, computer programmers are the worst SPELLERS :eek:
     
  3. jols

    jols Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2004
    Messages:
    1,111
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    How about computer programmers using any of the bizillion spell-checkers that seem to be built into everything these days?

    I guess this is like the cobbler's children who wore no shoes.
     
  4. embsupafly

    embsupafly Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2003
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I would rather have the typo in a display label, than the code.......

    A spellchecker wouldn't catch that as a spelling error.
     
  5. nickn

    nickn Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2003
    Messages:
    619
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    You can't spellcheck code. :)
     
  6. jols

    jols Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2004
    Messages:
    1,111
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Yes, and granted the recent typo I pointed out was not really a misspelling, but rather just a misplaced word (that made the backup utility sound like it was doing the exact opposite of what was intended.)

    Still however, anyone coding a commercial product interface should maintain a certain level of quality control by checking over the released version of the product for visible text errors. cPanel techs (or management) should CERTAINLY have caught errors like this before the "x" version of their product is released years later!

    Sorry but this sticks in my craw. Here we are doing our damndest to run a tight, high quality professional ship, yet we hand over a control panel to our customers that is full of really silly typos!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Minor or not in the minds of the cPanel coders who are otherwise doing an excellent job, it's a bad reflection on our business that could easily be resolved with just a few minutes of proofreading. Sheesh! There's really no excuse.
     
    #6 jols, May 11, 2006
    Last edited: May 11, 2006
  7. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,475
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    But it does happen. If you spot a typo, just log a bugzilla entry so that they're aware and can fix it.
     
Loading...

Share This Page