The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Yet another MySql question

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Networkologist, Feb 15, 2003.

  1. Networkologist

    Networkologist Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2003
    Messages:
    209
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I don't understand how WHM creates db's for accounts in Cpanel. My experience is colored by having used ensim for a couple of years; which creates one default db like domainname_com with the account admin name and password.

    I checked /root/.my.cnf and it shows [client] root, pwd xxxxxxxxxx - which is correct.

    I don't see any db's in /var/lib/mysql

    So since there is no option to add a db name when an account is created, just the option of how many db's the account can create, what am I missing here? How does an account create users and db's? I thought it would create default db's using the account owners name and password, somehow.

    The cpanel for the account shows:

    Databases
    ERROR 1045: Access denied for user: 'root@localhost' (Using password: YES)

    all over the page.

    I searched the forum and of the 100's of hits returned, none addressed this newbies question.
     
  2. xsenses

    xsenses Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2002
    Messages:
    233
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Huntington Beach, Ca
    The user creates their own db name and users via cpanel and it takes this form: database = cpanellogin_databaseyoucreated / user = cpanellogin_useryoucreated.

    I hope that is what you were looking for...
     
  3. SprintSlash

    SprintSlash Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2003
    Messages:
    163
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    You can create mysql databases in cpanel. How many can you make? It depends on how many you allows them to (specified in WHM)..
     
  4. Networkologist

    Networkologist Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2003
    Messages:
    209
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    So there's nothing else that needs to be added to WHM or the accounts Cpanel?

    - please see link http://66.70.153.97/cp5mysql.htm

    It wont create a db or user.

    I'm confused by: database = cpanellogin_databaseyoucreated

    do you mean database = cpanellogin_databaseIWANTto create ?

    When I try to add a db or user, I still get the old access denied for user root...
     
  5. xsenses

    xsenses Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2002
    Messages:
    233
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Huntington Beach, Ca
    I am not exactly sure what you are trying to accomplish, are you just trying to setup a database in cpanel?

    If so say your cpanel login is yourdomain (user not password) and the database you created is phpnuke (or whatever you named it or are going to name it) - the database would then be yourdomain_phpnuke. The same goes for user - yourdomain_ elvis (or whatever user you created)..

    I now noticed the root mention of your post and you can do it via SSH, but I am sure someone around here much more knowledgealbe than I can explain that.

    Example: http://www.xsenses.com/example.gif
     
  6. Networkologist

    Networkologist Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2003
    Messages:
    209
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Did you take a look athe the screenshots here?...

    http://66.70.153.97/cp5mysql.htm

    I'm going to log in as root and create a db and grant the user (account admin) all priviledges and see if cpanel looks any different afterward.

    But yes, I am trying to create a db from cpanel and and it just keeps giving me the access denied...same for users.

    My guess it has something to do with how WHM is setup. I get it there as well :(
     
  7. Website Rob

    Website Rob Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2002
    Messages:
    1,506
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Alberta, Canada
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    In Cpanel it appends the &accountID_& in front of the DBname & Username. You can see this when you create a DB within Cpanel.

    So if you have an account for &domain.com& with username &domain& the DBname becomes: domain_dbname -- with &dbname& being whatever was inputted when the DB was created. Same goes for Username.
     
  8. Networkologist

    Networkologist Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2003
    Messages:
    209
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I wouldn't care if it appended my ex-wifes name in front of it ;)

    ...If I could create a db or login to one.

    But thanks for the clarification.

    The Advanced Menu & MySql shows, for Databases, Users and BTW -what is this - Access Hosts

    ERROR 1045: Access denied for user: 'root@localhost' (Using password: YES) ERROR 1045:

    All over the page.

    There are no users, db or hosts listed and phpmyadmin returns a Wrong username/password.

    I still think somethings not right in WHM
     
  9. Networkologist

    Networkologist Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2003
    Messages:
    209
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I said it was somethng wrong in WHM !

    &Patting myself on the back&

    Not that I have set anything up in cpanel yet, but I went into WHM and used the &Reset MySql Password& and after it completed I opened cpanel and all the errors were gone.

    In the words of my boyhood hero, Yogi Berra:

    &You can observe a lot just by watchin'.&
     
  10. Networkologist

    Networkologist Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2003
    Messages:
    209
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    &Great Minds Think Alike& :)
     
Loading...

Share This Page