The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Yet Another Ruby on Rails Question

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by noisyzen, Nov 4, 2007.

  1. noisyzen

    noisyzen Registered

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2007
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    My question is regarding the message that is displayed in the Ruby Gem installer section of cPanel 11, specifically the item that I have placed in bold typeface:

    Ruby Gem Installer

    Ruby Gems are are collections of functions that allow you to perform tasks in Ruby. You will need to install a Gem before you can use it inside a Ruby program.

    Note: Gems are installed directly from the RubyForge repository.

    Location of Your Ruby Gem(s)

    Path: /home/username/ruby/gems

    Using Your Ruby Gem(s)

    You will need to add /home/username/ruby/gems to the include path.
    You can do this by adding the following code to your script:

    $:.push("/home/username/ruby/gems")


    Which script is cPanel referring to? I have been working with Rails for a while now, but have yet to see anything resembling the above syntax.

    I'd appreciate any answers.

    Thank you,
    .nz.
     
  2. ga2host

    ga2host Registered
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2007
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I hate ruby

    This also confuses me, could someone please let us know?

    Does it go into config/environment.rb ?


    Thanks for any help!
     
  3. cPanelTristan

    cPanelTristan Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    7,623
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    somewhere over the rainbow
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Do you have root access to the machine or only cPanel access to the machine?
     
  4. frisbees

    frisbees Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I have root access to my machine. What does that mean? I'm trying to get an application migrated to our hosting server and this is making me crazy. And the only thing I can find is a bunch of people all saying, "What?"
     
  5. cPanelTristan

    cPanelTristan Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    7,623
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    somewhere over the rainbow
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    You should simply be able to set the GEM_HOME variable:

    Code:
    export GEM_HOME="$HOME/ruby/gems"
    This is why I asked if you have root access or only cPanel access. The above has to be run in root SSH on the user's account.
     
Loading...

Share This Page