The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

You are logged in as notification

Discussion in 'User Experience' started by razrdj, Feb 16, 2016.

  1. razrdj

    razrdj Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2013
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi.

    On my cPanel account (not root or reseller privileges) i have 1 unread notification. When I click on the notification i get the following message:

    "Information: You are logged in as a reseller or root user."

    The account has no privilegs rights nor root.
     
  2. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,811
    Likes Received:
    671
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello :)

    That messages indicates you are logged in using the root or reseller password, as opposed to indicating the status of the account itself.

    Thank you.
     
  3. AndyX

    AndyX Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2015
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Los Altos, CA
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    I get the same notification. I'm not logged in as root and I don't know what a reseller is. I'm however using the same password as WHM. What should I do to remove the notification or correct the problem?
     
  4. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,469
    Likes Received:
    196
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    If you've got access to WebHost Manager you have Reseller access. Try using the cPanel user login instead.
     
  5. AndyX

    AndyX Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2015
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Los Altos, CA
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    I assume you mean WHM when you write "WebHost Manager", I always wondered what the acronym stood for.

    I do use cPanel login, yet the notification still occurs.
     
  6. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,469
    Likes Received:
    196
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    What do you mean by this comment exactly?
     
  7. AndyX

    AndyX Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2015
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Los Altos, CA
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    In WHM I login as "root", in cPanel I login as as something other than root, but both use the same password. I tried changing the password in WHM for the root account, but then my cPanel login also required the new password.
     
  8. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,469
    Likes Received:
    196
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    You're using root users password to login to a cPanel users account and is why you see the message.

    To insure you're not, login WebHost Manager, change that cPanel user's password:
    WebHost Manager »Account Functions »Password Modification

    Logout of any cPanel or WHM instances you have open, clear browser cookies, cache as needed.

    Try logging directly into cPanel using that cPanel user's name and his new password. Once you're sure that works as expected, logout.

    Login to WebHost Manager using your root account, using that root users password.
     
  9. AndyX

    AndyX Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2015
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Los Altos, CA
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    Thank you, Infopro.

    Your above instructions worked perfectly. I used the MySQL password as it is also changed when you change the cPanel password through WHM for the cPanel account.
     
    Infopro likes this.
  10. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,469
    Likes Received:
    196
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
Loading...

Share This Page