The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Your DNS servers aren't safe

Discussion in 'Bind / DNS / Nameserver Issues' started by alwaysweb, Nov 18, 2002.

  1. alwaysweb

    alwaysweb Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2002
    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Dallas, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    http://techupdate.zdnet.com/techupdate/stories/main/0,14179,2897711,00.html
     
  2. Annette

    Annette Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2001
    Messages:
    445
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Are you still running BIND 8.x? The vulnerabilities described in that article and in the CERT warnings issued previous to that article are for BIND 4 and 8. Just about everyone I know on a cPanel-based server is running Bind 9.x.
     
  3. alwaysweb

    alwaysweb Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2002
    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Dallas, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I'm using Bind 9.2.1, just thought I'd make sure this article was visible. ;)
     
  4. wizz

    wizz Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2002
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    D'oh! I have just got a new server with cPanel installed, and in WHM, in the &edit setup& it asks what version of Bind I am running, and it says 8. Not being very clever with this stuff... what do I need to do to change it to 9? Just type in 9 and hit update, or do I have to install something?
     
  5. alwaysweb

    alwaysweb Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2002
    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Dallas, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Try :

    named -v

    first to see what version of BIND you're using (I vaguely remember mine still mentioning 8 in the config you mentioned)
     
  6. rpmws

    rpmws Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2001
    Messages:
    1,824
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    back woods of NC, USA
    [quote:d6e941c6e6][i:d6e941c6e6]Originally posted by wizz[/i:d6e941c6e6]

    D'oh! I have just got a new server with cPanel installed, and in WHM, in the &edit setup& it asks what version of Bind I am running, and it says 8. Not being very clever with this stuff... what do I need to do to change it to 9? Just type in 9 and hit update, or do I have to install something?[/quote:d6e941c6e6]

    from what I understand Nick explained to me that 8 or 9 in the edit setup in WHM is just a way to telling Cpanel / WHM how to talk to bind. I think 8 and 9 settings are basically the same in the background :)
     
  7. ThunderHostingDotCom

    ThunderHostingDotCom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2002
    Messages:
    450
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    All over!
    [quote:879029af18][i:879029af18]Originally posted by alwaysweb[/i:879029af18]

    Try :

    named -v

    first to see what version of BIND you're using (I vaguely remember mine still mentioning 8 in the config you mentioned)[/quote:879029af18]

    Not to sound stupid but I know in order to try &named -v& I need to use SSH but what SSH s/w does everyone suggest?
     
  8. PWSowner

    PWSowner Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2001
    Messages:
    2,948
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    ON, Canada
    I use SecureCRT from vandyke.com, but Putty is a simple and free program. It can be found easily with a search.
     
  9. mrprez

    mrprez Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2002
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Putty:

    http://www.chiark.greenend.org.uk/~sgtatham/putty/

    John
     
  10. wizz

    wizz Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2002
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ah Ha!! Yes SSH named -v (yes I use Putty too) revealed that I have Bind 9. Well T.F for that! .... but reading that artical, it seems that Bind 9 isn't without it's security issues either.
     
Loading...

Share This Page