Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

yum check-updates seems broken

Discussion in 'Security' started by Spork Schivago, Jun 21, 2017.

Tags:
  1. Spork Schivago

    Spork Schivago Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2016
    Messages:
    594
    Likes Received:
    63
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    corning, ny
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Anyone having trouble with yum check-updates? I have a cron script that runs hourly and I've seen it's failing with the following:

    Code:
    Updateinfo file is not valid XML: <open file '/var/cache/yum/x86_64/7/epel/gen/updateinfo.xml', mode 'rt' at 0x1ce80c0>
    
    If I run yum check-updates, I see:
    Code:
    [root@franklin spork]# yum check-updates
    Loaded plugins: fastestmirror, universal-hooks
    Loading mirror speeds from cached hostfile
     * EA4: 69.72.212.11
     * cpanel-addons-production-feed: 69.72.212.11
     * base: mirrors.linode.com
     * epel: fedora-epel.mirrors.tds.net
     * extras: mirrors.linode.com
     * updates: mirrors.linode.com
    Updateinfo file is not valid XML: <open file '/var/cache/yum/x86_64/7/epel/gen/updateinfo.xml', mode 'rt' at 0x1d175d0>
    
    I've tried a yum clean all, which removes the file, but when I do a yum update or a yum check-updates, it breaks with the same message (different number at the end).

    From googling, it seems stuff like this has happened in the past, and it was because of a problem with the repo's server. I'm trying to determine if that is the case here, or if I'm just having this problem.

    I put this in the Security section because right now, I cannot get EPEL security updates. I suspect if I disable the repository (just temporarily), then other updates should come through....

    Any suggestions?

    Thanks!
     
  2. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    43,961
    Likes Received:
    1,821
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    That looks like an issue with the EPEL repository. I'm not seeing the same error message when running "yum check-updates" on test systems with the stock CentOS repos.

    Thank you.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. JacobPerkins

    JacobPerkins Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2014
    Messages:
    619
    Likes Received:
    96
    Trophy Points:
    103
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Twitter:
    This happens to me from time to time with EPEL. I generally just skip that repo for that update and try it again later
     
  4. Spork Schivago

    Spork Schivago Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2016
    Messages:
    594
    Likes Received:
    63
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    corning, ny
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    But when you enable the EPEL repository, then you do see the same error message? With the other thread (the one with ModSec and the 127.0.0.1 hostname), I want to make sure this isn't related to a possible security breach. I would think it'd be hard for a person to get into my server with me having ModSec enabled, CSF enabled, and rkhunter running, but I guess in today's world, there's almost always a way around security systems.
     
  5. JacobPerkins

    JacobPerkins Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2014
    Messages:
    619
    Likes Received:
    96
    Trophy Points:
    103
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Twitter:
    I did not specifically see this error earlier, but it's possible yum was using a different mirror than yours.
     
  6. Spork Schivago

    Spork Schivago Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2016
    Messages:
    594
    Likes Received:
    63
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    corning, ny
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I missed this post earlier. I think we were posting at the same time. I was worried that this might have something to do with some other issues I'm having on my system. I noticed yum is connecting to some linode repositories. I'm going to see if I can change that, to get it to use a different mirror, at least for the EPEL repository.
     
  7. Spork Schivago

    Spork Schivago Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2016
    Messages:
    594
    Likes Received:
    63
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    corning, ny
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Seems to be fixed now. Thanks!
     
    cPanelMichael likes this.
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice