The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

yum failed 6 times. Cannot continue!

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by TheNavigator, Aug 24, 2011.

  1. TheNavigator

    TheNavigator Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2011
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Last lines of the installation.

    What's wrong?

    I followed instructions listed here step by step :(
     
  2. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,678
    Likes Received:
    648
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello :)

    Please run the following command on the server to determine if there are any dependency errors:

    Code:
    # yum update
    In addition, feel free to open a support ticket with our staff if you would like assistance completing the installation:

    Submit A Ticket

    Thank you.
     
  3. TheNavigator

    TheNavigator Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2011
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Here you are sir :)

    And well, I prefer the forum support :P

    EDIT: I fixed it. Just deleted sendmail.

    Now,

    =(

    Changed to

    Let's wait...

    It has taken quite long time, though
     
    #3 TheNavigator, Aug 24, 2011
    Last edited: Aug 24, 2011
  4. TheNavigator

    TheNavigator Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2011
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    2 hours 36 mins now.

    Last lines:

    Is there something wrong as it has taken too long now?
     
  5. TheNavigator

    TheNavigator Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2011
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Wow.. So after sparing 3 hours, that appears in the above and then it goes again to root path..

    What's wrong?!
     
  6. cPanelTristan

    cPanelTristan Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    7,623
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    somewhere over the rainbow
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    First of all, why is qmail installed onto a cPanel machine?

    We only support exim rather than qmail. Is this a new machine? If so, it would be better if you just installed cPanel to wipe the OS and start from scratch with the default CentOS or RHEL installation instead. It sounds like the machine has components we don't require or want on it, including a bad installation of yum.

    If you want to start afresh and have us perform the cPanel installation after you've setup the OS itself, please feel free to open up a ticket as Michael suggested. While you might prefer the forum, it is usually faster and easier to open up a ticket for both parties so we can run commands on the machine to see what has gone wrong at a deeper level.
     
  7. TheNavigator

    TheNavigator Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2011
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Okay. I reinstalled Centos OS and now I'm installing cPanel. I hope it works this time.

    Thanks Tristan.
     
  8. TheNavigator

    TheNavigator Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2011
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hello. I guess it's time to let you install it for me and stop acting like a pro...

    The problem is this VPS is a friend's and not mine. But he gave it to me in order to install cPanel.

    It is licensed, and the license is provided through cPanel (you).

    So, what shall I provide now?
     
  9. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,678
    Likes Received:
    648
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
  10. TheNavigator

    TheNavigator Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2011
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    It says that I have to get the support access number. I can't find that as cPanel isn't installed and I don't have my friend's account for cPanel customer portal.

    EDIT: By the way, I'm trying to install it again till you respond.

    I found that it's listed that the IP is licensed while in SSH it says the opposite so I fixed it.

    Now I tried again to install it, after reinstalling CentOS and removing yum groups.

    It took 1 hour and 50 minutes now.

    I noticed this by the way

    The last few lines:

     
    #10 TheNavigator, Aug 25, 2011
    Last edited: Aug 25, 2011
  11. TheNavigator

    TheNavigator Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2011
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    3 hours passed and it didn't finish yet :(

    Tried to get the support access ID through the shell command while it's installing, but got this.

    Last few lines:

     
  12. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,446
    Likes Received:
    195
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    You should still be able to put in a ticket. I really see no need to continue posting this stuff over and over, put in a ticket and lets see whats going on with this server.
     
  13. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,446
    Likes Received:
    195
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Who is your hosting provider? Have you asked them about this issue?
     
  14. TheNavigator

    TheNavigator Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2011
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hello Infopro. No it doesn't permit me to submit the ticket without that number.

    And no I didn't contact them about it. Shall I do so?

    I thought that you're the ones to contact as you're cPanel staff
     
  15. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,446
    Likes Received:
    195
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Yes. Your host should always be your first stop when you're having an issue with cPanel.

    cPanel does provide Complimentary Support, you can submit your ticket from here:

    Additional Support Options

    HTH!
     
  16. TheNavigator

    TheNavigator Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2011
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Well, since I already submitted the ticket, let's wait for a reply and if it required me to contact the host, I will :)
     
Loading...

Share This Page