Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

YUM ....Please assist !!!

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by furquan, Jan 19, 2011.

  1. furquan

    furquan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2002
    Messages:
    461
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    168
    I am using [Red Hat Enterprise Linux ES release 4] on one of my servers and i need to install yum on it, I have installed all the required pacakges to get yum up and running, namely :-

    a) libsqlite-3.2.1-1.i386.rpm
    b) python-elementtree-1.2.6-7.el4.rf.i386.rpm
    c) python-sqlite-1.0.1-1.2.el4.rf.i386.rpm
    d) python-urlgrabber-2.9.6-1.2.el4.rf.noarch.rpm
    e) smart-0.42-1.el4.rf.i386.rpm
    f) sqlite-2.8.17-1.el4.rf.i386.rpm
    g) yum-2.4.2-0.4.el4.rf.noarch.rpm

    But after all this when i issue the command "yum update", i get this error :-

    Can any one please assist ?

    Thank you,
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  2. cPanelDon

    cPanelDon cPanel Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2008
    Messages:
    2,554
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    Houston, Texas, U.S.A.
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Twitter:
    I recommend using official RHEL or CentOS RPMs instead of RPMs from a third-party repository like RPMforge.

    Have you tried using up2date to install YUM? If yes, what was the result? Where there any specific errors?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. furquan

    furquan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2002
    Messages:
    461
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    168
    ahhh..No i have not used up2date to install yum...what could be the exact syntax for the same ?

    Thank you Don :)
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  4. cPanelDon

    cPanelDon cPanel Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2008
    Messages:
    2,554
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    Houston, Texas, U.S.A.
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Twitter:
    I recommend referring to the manual "man" page for up2date, which should be accessible using the following command (via SSH access):
    Code:
    # man up2date
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. furquan

    furquan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2002
    Messages:
    461
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    168
    very true :) i will do it ,

    Thank you for the suggestion
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  6. cPanelDon

    cPanelDon cPanel Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2008
    Messages:
    2,554
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    Houston, Texas, U.S.A.
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Twitter:
    After removing the RPMforge RPMs, I would try one of the following commands to install YUM; this is assuming that the OS update repository has YUM available:
    Code:
    # up2date -i yum
    # /scripts/ensurerpm yum
    The ensurerpm script simply uses your OS update mechanism, such as up2date (or yum), to locate and install packages. If up2date is unable to locate and install YUM, it may require manually downloading the RPMs (via wget), perhaps from a CentOS mirror. Any RPMs that are manually downloaded must match the system architecture, which can be seen via the following command:
    Code:
    # uname -a
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
    #6 cPanelDon, Jan 20, 2011
    Last edited: Jan 20, 2011
  7. furquan

    furquan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2002
    Messages:
    461
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Thank you once agin Don :), tips like these help up in going long way :P
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  8. furquan

    furquan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2002
    Messages:
    461
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    168
    There is a catch here...I have installed all the above mentioned softwares, but when i do a "rpm -e <package name>" the server says it is not installed, but when i do a query "rpm -q <package name>" it shows me the package detail....

    What could be causing this ?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  9. cPanelDon

    cPanelDon cPanel Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2008
    Messages:
    2,554
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    Houston, Texas, U.S.A.
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Twitter:
    Is the RPM filename extension, like .rpm, being used with either of the two commands? If yes, try limiting the package name to just "yum-2.4.2-0.4.el4.rf.noarch" or "yum-2.4.2-0.4.el4.rf" without ".rpm" at the end.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  10. furquan

    furquan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2002
    Messages:
    461
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    168
    ok, i shall do that and will revert back....
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  11. furquan

    furquan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2002
    Messages:
    461
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Hello Don :

    I tried to use up2date to install yum, but i get this error :-

    How do i get this done :(

    any assistance.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  12. LinuxTechie

    LinuxTechie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2011
    Messages:
    502
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    68
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    You can do installation of yum using rpms. You may have to install many of the dependencies. Also have a check on the arch( whether it is 32 or 64 bit) and install rpm's accordingly.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  13. furquan

    furquan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2002
    Messages:
    461
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Hello Varada ,

    Thank you so much for pointing that out...how silly of me, i thought i was on a 32 bit :(

    But i am on 64 :P

    Thank you
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  14. LinuxTechie

    LinuxTechie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2011
    Messages:
    502
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    68
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    You are welcome! Try again and post your result!
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice