Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

'yum update' break cPanel software?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by student, Oct 22, 2006.

  1. student

    student Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2006
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    156
    hi,
    I'm going to add 'yum update' to cron daily. Can this 'global system upgrade' break cPanel software or it's dependences? I want to avoid situation when later, after this automatic update, my cPanel will stop working because of yum upgrade one of cPanel key componets. I'am using CentOS 4.4.
    Anyone has long time experience with this global updater?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  2. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,460
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    463
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    Shouldn't be a problem, but if you have everything set to automatic in WHM then there's no need as it will run yum update as part of the nighly upcp run anyway.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. student

    student Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2006
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    156
    chirpy, thanks for reply, but since I've heard about problems after automatic cPanels updates I decided to run cPanel updates manually, only when it's necessary. So I'm asking about 'yum update' compatibility with existing cPanel stuff :)
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  4. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,460
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    463
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    So long as yum is set to exclude certain packages you should normally be fine. You can update yum using:

    /scripts/checkyum
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. student

    student Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2006
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    156
    Ok, so I should run '/scripts/checkyum' before each 'yum update', right?
    Currently '/scripts/checkyum' returns only: 'checkyum version 20.4', is it ok? :)

    Btw. Where can I find documentation of all the scripts located under /scripts directory? Lots of them are very useful, but I couldn't find official papers about them.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  6. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,460
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    463
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
Loading...
Similar Threads - 'yum update' break
  1. Kemal3535
    Replies:
    5
    Views:
    267

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice