The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

yum update: Error: Missing Dependency: libpq.so.4 is needed by package apr-util

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by dev.null, Sep 2, 2009.

  1. dev.null

    dev.null Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2003
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    6
    CentOS 5.2

    My box is in desperate need of update, but can't:

    Code:
    root@vhost3 [/etc]# yum update
    Loading "fastestmirror" plugin
    Loading mirror speeds from cached hostfile
     * dag: apt.sw.be
     * kbs-CentOS-Extras: centos.karan.org
     * kbs-CentOS-Misc: centos.karan.org
     * base: mirrors.cmich.edu
     * updates: mirrors.gigenet.com
     * kbs-CentOS-Misc-Testing: centos.karan.org
     * addons: mirror.fdcservers.net
     * extras: ftp.osuosl.org
    dag                       100% |=========================| 1.1 kB    00:00     
    kbs-CentOS-Extras         100% |=========================|  951 B    00:00     
    kbs-CentOS-Misc           100% |=========================|  951 B    00:00     
    base                      100% |=========================| 1.1 kB    00:00     
    updates                   100% |=========================|  951 B    00:00     
    kbs-CentOS-Misc-Testing   100% |=========================|  951 B    00:00     
    addons                    100% |=========================|  951 B    00:00     
    extras                    100% |=========================| 1.1 kB    00:00     
    Excluding Packages in global exclude list
    Finished
    Setting up Update Process
    Resolving Dependencies
    
    
    274 packages listed!!!!!!! (deleted because it makes my post too big.
    
    --> Finished Dependency Resolution
    Error: Missing Dependency: libpq.so.4 is needed by package apr-util
    
    Note the:

    Code:
    Error: Missing Dependency: libpq.so.4 is needed by package apr-util
    
    I add apr-util and libpq.so.4 both to the /etc/yum.conf exclude line - no use. For whatever reason it still insists that I have them.

    To make matters worse, I actually have libpq.so.4 installed:

    Code:
    root@vhost3 [/etc]# locate libpq.so | while read line; do ls -l $line; done
    lrwxrwxrwx 1 admin21 admin21 12 Jan 27  2009 /home/admin21/usr/lib/libpq.so.3 -> libpq.so.3.0
    lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root 12 Aug 13 00:24 /usr/lib/libpq.so.4 -> libpq.so.4.1*
    -rwxr-xr-x 1 root root 131864 Jan 12  2008 /usr/lib/libpq.so.4.1*
    lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root 12 Jan  2  2009 /usr/lib64/libpq.so.4 -> libpq.so.4.1*
    -rwxr-xr-x 1 root root 142824 Jan 12  2008 /usr/lib64/libpq.so.4.1*
    -rwxr-xr-x 1 root root 134042 Sep 12  2007 /usr/local/cpanel/lib64/libpq.so.3*
    root@vhost3 [/etc]# 
    
    Any ideas? I'm at a complete loss. I've googled, I've searched the forums here - nothing.

    Thanks in advance!
     
  2. MattCurry

    MattCurry Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2009
    Messages:
    275
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Houston, Tx
    Missing Dependency: libpq.so.4

    Hello,

    I have run into this issue before, and there is an article listed below that should walk you through fixing the problem. Please give it a try and let me know if you have any questions or issues.

    libpq.so.4 « Short hints about Linux

    Thank you,
    Matthew Curry
     
  3. dev.null

    dev.null Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2003
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Thanks for that, I saw that post when trying to work through this problem. That doesn't really solve the problem for me. Uninstalling postgres won't make it where apr-util doesn't need libpq.so.4 - and libpq.so.4 is installed already anyway.

    What I need is a way for libpq.so.4 to be "registered" as installed.
     
  4. MattCurry

    MattCurry Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2009
    Messages:
    275
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Houston, Tx
    Support

    Hello,


    To really go any further in the process we would need a ticket for this issue, we might need some more information, please submit a ticket via the link below.

    Thank you,
    Matthew Curry
     
  5. dev.null

    dev.null Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2003
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    6
    You're going to love this.

    I go to submit a ticket, I select the option that I don't have a cpanel account. It recognizes my email as having an account and sends me to the login anyway. It doesn't recognize my login, so I ask for a password reset.

    Get the email, click the link, fill in the password twice (email is already filled in), it takes the change and sends me to the login. It still doesn't recognize my login.

    So, where can I submit a ticket outside of your ticket system to get my login fixed? ;-D
     
  6. MattCurry

    MattCurry Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2009
    Messages:
    275
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Houston, Tx
    Support Ticket Help

    Hello,


    Sorry to hear that, you can still submit it at the bottom of the page, but to get the login issue resolved you would have to email customer support at cs@cpanel.net, also have you "If you have a cPanel Store account but have not yet used the cPanel Customer Portal, please login to your store account to automatically create a Customer Portal Account. "


    Please let me know if that answers your questions.


    Thank you,
    Matthew Curry
     
Loading...

Share This Page