newbiegirl

Member
Feb 25, 2015
7
0
1
cPanel Access Level
Website Owner
Hi There,

I am brand new to this whole server thing and am learning as I go. I have this problem and am hopeful someone can guide me in the right direction. :)

I have a Linux VPS running Centos 6.6

When I went to perform a "yum update" I received the following errors:

Code:
Error: Package: 32:bind-chroot-9.8.2-0.23.rc1.el6_5.1.x86_64 (@updates)
Requires: bind = 32:9.8.2-0.23.rc1.el6_5.1
Removing: 32:bind-9.8.2-0.23.rc1.el6_5.1.x86_64 (@updates)
bind = 32:9.8.2-0.23.rc1.el6_5.1
Updated By: 32:bind-9.8.2-0.30.rc1.el6_6.1.x86_64 (updates)
bind = 32:9.8.2-0.30.rc1.el6_6.1
Available: 32:bind-9.8.2-0.30.rc1.el6.x86_64 (base)
bind = 32:9.8.2-0.30.rc1.el6
You could try using --skip-broken to work around the problem
** Found 5 pre-existing rpmdb problem(s), 'yum check' output follows:
3:mailman-2.1.12-18.el6.x86_64 has missing requires of httpd
mod_fcgid-2.3.7-1.el6.x86_64 has missing requires of httpd-mmn = ('0', '20051115', None)
2:mod_ssl-2.2.15-30.el6.vm.x86_64 has missing requires of httpd = ('1', '2.2.15', '30.el6.vm')
2:mod_ssl-2.2.15-30.el6.vm.x86_64 has missing requires of httpd-mmn = ('0', '20051115', None)
webalizer-2.21_02-3.3.el6.x86_64 has missing requires of httpd

Is there anything that I can do to fix these issues?

I have already tried this:

su -
yum clean all
rpm --rebuilddb
yum update

su -
yum repolist all

These did not help.

Any input/help would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you.
 
Last edited by a moderator:

cPanelMichael

Administrator
Staff member
Apr 11, 2011
47,909
2,228
463
Hello :)

You should have the following line in your /etc/yum.conf file if you have already installed cPanel:

Code:
exclude=bind-chroot courier* dovecot* exim* filesystem httpd* mod_ssl* mydns* mysql* nsd* php* proftpd* pure-ftpd* spamassassin* squirrelmail*
Thank you.
 

newbiegirl

Member
Feb 25, 2015
7
0
1
cPanel Access Level
Website Owner
Thank you for your response. :)

How can I look at this to see if it is installed?

If it is not there, how can I put it there?

Thank you again...... :D
 

newbiegirl

Member
Feb 25, 2015
7
0
1
cPanel Access Level
Website Owner
Hello :)

You should have the following line in your /etc/yum.conf file if you have already installed cPanel:

Code:
exclude=bind-chroot courier* dovecot* exim* filesystem httpd* mod_ssl* mydns* mysql* nsd* php* proftpd* pure-ftpd* spamassassin* squirrelmail*
Thank you.
I did find out that the code was missing. I got it installed and the errors are still present.

Any other advice?

Thank you..... :)
 

newbiegirl

Member
Feb 25, 2015
7
0
1
cPanel Access Level
Website Owner
The Yum Update Errors still exist.

This morning I ran these again:
su -
yum clean all
rpm --rebuilddb
yum update

Then:
su -
yum repolist all

Here are the results of this:

Code:
[email protected] [~]# su -
[email protected] [~]# yum repolist all
Loaded plugins: fastestmirror
Loading mirror speeds from cached hostfile
repo id              repo name                                 status
C6.0-base            CentOS-6.0 - Base                         disabled
C6.0-centosplus      CentOS-6.0 - CentOSPlus                   disabled
C6.0-contrib         CentOS-6.0 - Contrib                      disabled
C6.0-extras          CentOS-6.0 - Extras                       disabled
C6.0-updates         CentOS-6.0 - Updates                      disabled
C6.1-base            CentOS-6.1 - Base                         disabled
C6.1-centosplus      CentOS-6.1 - CentOSPlus                   disabled
C6.1-contrib         CentOS-6.1 - Contrib                      disabled
C6.1-extras          CentOS-6.1 - Extras                       disabled
C6.1-updates         CentOS-6.1 - Updates                      disabled
C6.2-base            CentOS-6.2 - Base                         disabled
C6.2-centosplus      CentOS-6.2 - CentOSPlus                   disabled
C6.2-contrib         CentOS-6.2 - Contrib                      disabled
C6.2-extras          CentOS-6.2 - Extras                       disabled
C6.2-updates         CentOS-6.2 - Updates                      disabled
C6.3-base            CentOS-6.3 - Base                         disabled
C6.3-centosplus      CentOS-6.3 - CentOSPlus                   disabled
C6.3-contrib         CentOS-6.3 - Contrib                      disabled
C6.3-extras          CentOS-6.3 - Extras                       disabled
C6.3-updates         CentOS-6.3 - Updates                      disabled
C6.4-base            CentOS-6.4 - Base                         disabled
C6.4-centosplus      CentOS-6.4 - CentOSPlus                   disabled
C6.4-contrib         CentOS-6.4 - Contrib                      disabled
C6.4-extras          CentOS-6.4 - Extras                       disabled
C6.4-updates         CentOS-6.4 - Updates                      disabled
C6.5-base            CentOS-6.5 - Base                         disabled
C6.5-centosplus      CentOS-6.5 - CentOSPlus                   disabled
C6.5-contrib         CentOS-6.5 - Contrib                      disabled
C6.5-extras          CentOS-6.5 - Extras                       disabled
C6.5-updates         CentOS-6.5 - Updates                      disabled
base                 CentOS-6 - Base                           enabled: 6,456+62
base-debuginfo       CentOS-6 - Debuginfo                      disabled
c6-media             CentOS-6 - Media                          disabled
centosplus           CentOS-6 - Plus                           disabled
contrib              CentOS-6 - Contrib                        disabled
extras               CentOS-6 - Extras                         enabled:       37
fasttrack            CentOS-6 - fasttrack                      disabled
updates              CentOS-6 - Updates                        enabled:   748+40
virtualmin           RHEL/CentOS/Scientific 6 - x86_64 - Virtu enabled:    47+77
virtualmin-universal Virtualmin Distribution Neutral Packages  enabled:    202+1
repolist: 7,490
[email protected] [~]#
I use cPanel, but upgraded from Vituralmin/Webmin/Usermin

Is there anything that should be disabled or enabled that might help get my yum updates error fixed?

Thank you very much for your help.
 

cPanelMichael

Administrator
Staff member
Apr 11, 2011
47,909
2,228
463
I use cPanel, but upgraded from Vituralmin/Webmin/Usermin
This is not a supported method of installing cPanel. If you are able to reinstall the OS and cPanel, please do so using the instructions at:

cPanel Installation Guide

In particular:

Only install cPanel & WHM on a freshly installed operating system.
We recommend that you use the cPanel & WHM installer, which will install all of the services that it needs. If you install services before you install cPanel & WHM, you will encounter compatibility problems. When you install your operating system, deselect software package groups like Gnome, KDE, or other GUI desktop environments.
Thank you.
 

newbiegirl

Member
Feb 25, 2015
7
0
1
cPanel Access Level
Website Owner
Thank you for your response.

I apologize as I did not explain myself very well.

It was a clean OS that cPanel was installed to. I had previously had Virtualmin installed and those files were part of the backup files that were re-installed for my website once cPanel was installed and functioning.

So with that being said, is there any recommendations for me based on what you see?

Thank you again,
Joan
 

cPanelMichael

Administrator
Staff member
Apr 11, 2011
47,909
2,228
463
It's possible your system had packages installed that were not required, and are now removed from the repo. You should remove those packages after verifying they are not required with commands like this one:

Code:
rpm -e --nodeps bind-chroot-9.8.2-0.23.rc1.el6_5.1.x86_64
Thank you.
 

newbiegirl

Member
Feb 25, 2015
7
0
1
cPanel Access Level
Website Owner
Thank you so much.......:)

I will give it a try!

Joan

- - - Updated - - -

I just wanted to say thank you sooooooo much.

I put in exactly what you told me to and it fixed my problem.

I was able to do my yum updates and there were no errors!!!!!!! :D
 

cPanelMichael

Administrator
Staff member
Apr 11, 2011
47,909
2,228
463
I am happy to see the issue is now resolved. Thank you for updating us with the outcome.
 

cPanelTristan

Quality Assurance Analyst
Staff member
Oct 2, 2010
7,607
40
248
somewhere over the rainbow
cPanel Access Level
Root Administrator
Hello,

I need to provide a warning if bind might actually be running in chroot mode. You should not remove the rpm without first checking bind isn't running chrooted:

Code:
ps aux | grep named
Check that named does not show /var/named/chroot or anything with chroot in the return. If it does, then check this file:

Code:
grep chroot /etc/sysconfig/named
If you see a chroot line like this:

Code:
ROOTDIR="/var/named/chroot"
Then comment it out:

Code:
#ROOTDIR="/var/named/chroot"
Then restart named:

Code:
/etc/init.d/named restart
After that, then you can remove bind-chroot rpm on the machine using the step noted.

While cPanel doesn't run bind/named in chroot, some providers might have setup the machine that way before cPanel install. If so, then we need to be careful in removing the rpm until named is properly switched back. Otherwise, named service would go down.

Thanks!