The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

(yum) was not able to locate the glibc package

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by zurca, Aug 3, 2006.

  1. zurca

    zurca Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2004
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I got a question, I am trying to add a module to apache through the webhosting manager apache update, but when I try to build apache, this gives me an apache build error message:

    Building Apache Config.....Done
    Downloading and compiling apache+modules....


    Fetching http://layer1.cpanel.net/buildapache.sea (0)....@198.66.78.11......connected......receiving...1%...3%...4%...6%...7%...9%...11%...12%...14%...15%...17%...19%...20%...22%...23%...25%...27%...28%...30%...31%...33%...35%...36%...38%...39%...41%...42%...44%...46%...47%...49%...50%...52%...54%...55%...57%...58%...60%...62%...63%...65%...66%...68%...70%...71%...73%...74%...76%...78%...79%...81%...82%...84%...85%...87%...89%...90%...92%...93%...95%...97%...98%...100%......Done
    Verifying archive integrity... All good.
    Uncompressing buildapache...................................................................................................................................................................................................................................
    Checking Update System........Your operating system's rpm update method (yum) was not able to locate the glibc package. This is an indication of an improper setup. You must correct this error before you can proceed.
    Please correct the conflicts and try again!

    I ssh to my server and tried rpm -q glibc from the command shell and it displays that the following glibc version is already installed:

    glibc-2.3.2-95.30

    Why is yum not able to locate this package since its already installed?

    Any suggestions will be appreaciated and if it is in plain english walk through even better since I am still little green on linix commands. I am running CentOS 3.4 i686
    Thanks
     
  2. fwwebs

    fwwebs Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2004
    Messages:
    329
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I believe you get that fail when yum isn't installed. If this is a new installation it's probably the case.
     
  3. cool38

    cool38 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2006
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    check ur /etc/yum.conf
    see if your settings actually skip anything for updating.
     
  4. zurca

    zurca Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2004
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1

    No, this is not a fresh install, the server has been working for the past 3 years, and last time I did a apache build through whm worked fine about 3 to 4 months ago.
     
  5. zurca

    zurca Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2004
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Is there anything I need to look for in particular in the /etc/yum.conf

    Thanks
     
  6. hamper

    hamper Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2006
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I just tried to run an update and got the same thing.

     
  7. Danny_T

    Danny_T Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2005
    Messages:
    181
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Still no sollutions?

    I getting this too since a while. Now i need to add a module but error still exists.

    Box: FC3
    Enabled dries/dag/legacy/updates/core/base.
    Nothing much updated from yum because FC3 is in legacy state and almost EOL.

    If someone knows a sollution.. its not anything to do with YUM! I think its the package/script that was downloaded from cpanel.net.

    Be quick please.. i realy need to enable a module!

    Greetz Danny.
     
  8. crwilliams

    crwilliams Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2002
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I had the exact same problem a few months ago, but with up2date rather than yum. I don't know if this will help you, but my problem was fixed when I ran:

    /scripts/updatenow

    and then

    /scripts/upcp --force

    After those finished, I went back and ran the apache build, and it went through without a problem. Good luck!
     
  9. Danny_T

    Danny_T Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2005
    Messages:
    181
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Not working :S

    and ./upcp --force ran, then apache update.. still the glibc error

    Has it something todo with this when upcp is running? :

    Doing a manual update...
    Cpanel updates are coming from layer2.cpanel.net
    findutils passes checksum
    net-tools fails checksum !!!
    Notification => root@nettuning.nl via EMAIL [level => 3]
    Fetching http://updates.cpanel.net/pub/hackcheck/fedora/3/net-tools-1.60-37.FC3.1.i386.rpm (0)....@69.72.164.152......connected......receiving...1%...2%...3%...5%...6%...7%...8%...10%...11%...12%...14%...15%...16%...17%...19%...20%...21%...22%...24%...25%...26%...28%...29%...30%...31%...33%...34%...35%...36%...38%...39%...40%...42%...43%...44%...45%...47%...48%...49%...50%...52%...53%...54%...56%...57%...58%...59%...61%...62%...63%...64%...66%...67%...68%...70%...71%...72%...73%...75%...76%...77%...79%...80%...81%...82%...84%...85%...86%...87%...89%...90%...91%...93%...94%...95%...96%...98%...99%...100%......Done
    Error fetching http://updates.cpanel.net/pub/hackcheck/fedora/3/net-tools-1.60-37.FC3.1.i386.rpm at /scripts/cPScript/RpmUtils.pm line 81.


    *rpm database has net-tools-1.60-37.FC3.1.i386
     
    #9 Danny_T, Aug 6, 2006
    Last edited: Aug 6, 2006
  10. Danny_T

    Danny_T Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2005
    Messages:
    181
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Netherlands
  11. zurca

    zurca Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2004
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Any luck yet Danny?

    I still can not figure this out yet, why would (yum) was not able to locate the glibc package

    even tho I have glibc-2.3.2-95.30 already installed.

    My yum.conf file out put is as follows:

    #/etc/yum.conf Jan/2/2005 support@domainnamehere.com

    [main]

    exclude=mod_ssl* httpd* perl mysql* php* spamassassin* kernel* exim* courier* apache*

    cachedir=/var/cache/yum

    debuglevel=2

    logfile=/var/log/yum.log

    pkgpolicy=newest

    distroverpkg=redhat-release

    installonlypkgs=kernel kernel-smp kernel-hugemem kernel-enterprise kernel-debug

    kernel-unsupported kernel-smp-unsupported kernel-hugemem-unsupported

    tolerant=1

    exactarch=1


    [base]
    name=CentOS-$releasever - Base
    baseurl=http://mirror.centos.org/centos/$releasever/os/$basearch/
    gpgcheck=1

    #released updates
    [update]
    name=CentOS-$releasever - Updates
    [update]
    name=CentOS-$releasever - Updates
    baseurl=http://mirror.centos.org/centos/$releasever/updates/$basearch/
    gpgcheck=1

    #packages used/produced in the build but not released
    [addons]
    name=CentOS-$releasever - Addons
    baseurl=http://mirror.centos.org/centos/$releasever/addons/$basearch/
    gpgcheck=1

    #additional packages that may be useful
    [extras]
    name=CentOS-$releasever - Extras
    baseurl=http://mirror.centos.org/centos/$releasever/extras/$basearch/
    gpgcheck=1

    #additional packages that extend functionality of existing packages
    #[centosplus]
    #name=CentOS-$releasever - Plus
    #baseurl=http://mirror.centos.org/centos/$releasever/centosplus/$basearch/
    #gpgcheck=1
    #packages in testing
    #[testing]
    #name=CentOS-$releasever - Testing
    #baseurl=http://mirror.centos.org/centos/$releasever/testing/$basearch/
    #gpgcheck=1
     
  12. BenThomas

    BenThomas Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2004
    Messages:
    598
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Houston, Texas USA
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    The check that is failing is the result of the command 'yum info glibc'. Does this command return any info for glibc and if so what?
     
  13. Danny_T

    Danny_T Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2005
    Messages:
    181
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Netherlands
    yum info glibc (FC3):

    Disabled legacy repo's:

     
    #13 Danny_T, Aug 9, 2006
    Last edited: Aug 9, 2006
  14. rikgarner

    rikgarner Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    /dev/null
  15. BenThomas

    BenThomas Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2004
    Messages:
    598
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Houston, Texas USA
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Please run the following from the command line several times and let me know how often it fails:

    perl -I/scripts -McPScript::RpmUtils -e '($status,$message) = cPScript::RpmUtils::checkupdatesystem(); print $message;'

    It should say "Rpm Sanity Check PASSED!" in green.

    Also do the same for 'yum info glibc'.

    I'd seen this fail during early testing, but it was a yum hiccup (I assume) because it immediately starting working again.
     
  16. Danny_T

    Danny_T Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2005
    Messages:
    181
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Netherlands
    # yum clean all
    Cleaning up Everything
    111 headers removed
    100 packages removed
    20 metadata files removed
    10 cache files removed

    Ok lets try...


    Checking Update System........Your operating system's rpm update method (yum) was not able to locate the glibc package. This is an indication of an improper setup. You must correct this error before you can proceed.
    Please correct the conflicts and try again!
    initfpsuexec: using apache 1.x support
    User demo
    Group demo
    User demo
    Group demo
    User reseller
    Group reseller
    User develop
    Group develop
    (cut of a lot such messages.....)

    Euh what is this all about lol That did not showed up yesterday!? cPanel scripts did changed something again? lol
    Still the yum glibc error.
     
  17. BenThomas

    BenThomas Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2004
    Messages:
    598
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Houston, Texas USA
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Please read my previous post.
     
  18. Danny_T

    Danny_T Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2005
    Messages:
    181
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Did ran it 15 times.

    Same message:

    # perl -I/scripts -McPScript::RpmUtils -e '($status,$message) = cPScript::RpmUtils::checkupdatesystem(); print $message;'

    Your operating system's rpm update method (yum) was not able to locate the glibc package. This is an indication of an improper setup. You must correct this error before you can proceed.

    And now yum info glibc or yum update etc etc gives:

    Traceback (most recent call last):
    File "/usr/bin/yum", line 7, in ?
    yummain.main(sys.argv[1:])
    File "/usr/share/yum-cli/yummain.py", line 68, in main
    result, resultmsgs = base.doCommands()
    File "/usr/share/yum-cli/cli.py", line 413, in doCommands
    return self.updatePkgs()
    File "/usr/share/yum-cli/cli.py", line 932, in updatePkgs
    self.doRepoSetup()
    File "/usr/share/yum-cli/cli.py", line 89, in doRepoSetup
    self.doSackSetup()
    File "/usr/lib/python2.3/site-packages/yum/__init__.py", line 143, in doSackSetup
    self.repos.populateSack()
    File "/usr/lib/python2.3/site-packages/yum/repos.py", line 243, in populateSack
    dobj = repo.cacheHandler.getPrimary(xml, csum)
    File "/usr/lib/python2.3/site-packages/yum/mdcache.py", line 103, in getPrimary
    return self._getGeneric('metadata', location, checksum)
    File "/usr/lib/python2.3/site-packages/yum/mdcache.py", line 90, in _getGeneric
    databank = self._unpickle(piklfile)
    File "/usr/lib/python2.3/site-packages/yum/mdcache.py", line 62, in _unpickle
    obj = cPickle.load(infh)
    EOFError

    Danny
     
  19. BenThomas

    BenThomas Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2004
    Messages:
    598
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Houston, Texas USA
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Thanks for the follow up. In this case it looks like the "checkupdatesystem" verification is working as intended. You'll need to resolve the issue with yum before continuing. I recommend verifying the yum rpm and reinstalling it if necessary. Once you get to the point where 'yum info glibc' returns valid results then the cPanel software will work as expected.
     
  20. MMarko

    MMarko Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2005
    Messages:
    316
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I got "Rpm Sanity Check PASSED!" and 'yum info glibc' shows:

    Name : glibc
    Arch : i686
    Version: 2.3.2
    Release: 95.39
    Size : 11.79 MB
    Group : System Environment/Libraries
    Repo : Locally Installed
    Summary: The GNU libc libraries.



    I'm still getting

    "Fetching http://layer1.cpanel.net/buildapache.sea (0)....@69.72.164.155......connected......receiving...1%...3%...4%...6%...7%...9%...11%...12%...14%...15%...17%...19%...20%...22%...23%...25%...26%...28%...30%...31%...33%...34%...36%...38%...39%...41%...42%...44%...46%...47%...49%...50%...52%...53%...55%...57%...58%...60%...61%...63%...65%...66%...68%...69%...71%...72%...74%...76%...77%...79%...80%...82%...84%...85%...87%...88%...90%...92%...93%...95%...96%...98%...99%...100%......Done
    Verifying archive integrity... All good.
    Uncompressing buildapache....................................................................................................................................................................................................................................
    Checking Update System........Your operating system's rpm update method (yum) was not able to locate the glibc package. This is an indication of an improper setup. You must correct this error before you can proceed.
    Please correct the conflicts and try again!"
     
Loading...

Share This Page