Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

[ZC-3763] mod_fcgi default version problem

Discussion in 'EasyApache' started by vacancy, Aug 23, 2018.

Tags:
  1. vacancy

    vacancy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2012
    Messages:
    261
    Likes Received:
    31
    Trophy Points:
    28
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi all;

    I started testing cpanel v74 - mod_fcgi in EasyApache 4.

    I still see it is not fully functional.

    For example, when we set the default php version 5.6, the newly opened accounts are running as php 7.2. these sites also need to make php version selection. this is a challenging thing for many sites.

    Can we set a different version of inherit for created accounts instead of php 7.2 for default version of fcgi?
     
    #1 vacancy, Aug 23, 2018
    Last edited: Aug 23, 2018
  2. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Technical Support Community Manager Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    47,325
    Likes Received:
    2,157
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Hello @vacancy,

    I've been unable to reproduce this behavior on a test system using the following steps:

    1. Installed PHP 5.6, PHP 7.0, and PHP 7.2.
    2. Installed the ea4-experimental and ea-apache24-mod_fcgid packages.
    3. Set the "System PHP Version" to PHP 5.6.
    4. Enabled fcgi as the PHP handler for PHP version 7.2.
    5. Created a new account, and confirmed it was assigned to PHP version 5.6 in WHM >> MultiPHP Manager.

    Can you let me know what you're doing differently compared to the steps above?

    Thanks!
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. vacancy

    vacancy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2012
    Messages:
    261
    Likes Received:
    31
    Trophy Points:
    28
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I'm doing the same thing and testing.

    Although the default php version is 5.6 the php version appears to be 7.2 when created account. I disable the fcgi handler for 7.2 - 7.1 and 7.0 the php version returns to 5.6.

    I install php-fpm packages in EasyApache 4, can it be linked to it?
     
  4. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Technical Support Community Manager Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    47,325
    Likes Received:
    2,157
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Hi @vacancy,

    I've installed the PHP-FPM packages but have not been able to reproduce the issue you have described. Could you open a support ticket so we can take a closer look at the affected system? You can post the ticket number here and I'll link this thread to the ticket.

    Thank you.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. vacancy

    vacancy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2012
    Messages:
    261
    Likes Received:
    31
    Trophy Points:
    28
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello michael;

    Ticket number 10194501
     
  6. vacancy

    vacancy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2012
    Messages:
    261
    Likes Received:
    31
    Trophy Points:
    28
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello there

    We have confirmed that this is a normal behavior after the reviews made, and that when the fcgi is selected as the handler, the top php version is inherit active.

    There has been an ongoing case regarding this issue, and I have been informed that it will be corrected in the future. (ZC-3763)
     
    cPanelMichael likes this.
  7. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Technical Support Community Manager Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    47,325
    Likes Received:
    2,157
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Hi @vacancy,

    Thanks for sharing the outcome. I've also reproduced the issue by uploading a PHPINFO file to the newly created domain and confirming the wrong PHP version is enabled (in my prior test, I only noticed the version listed in WHM >> MultiPHP Manager). I'm monitoring the case and will update this thread with more information on it's status as it becomes available.

    Thank you.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
    vacancy likes this.

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice