The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

zend installer and php version

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by anup123, Dec 13, 2005.

  1. anup123

    anup123 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2004
    Messages:
    897
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    This Planet
    Hello,

    Installing Zend mentions that it is not supported for php 4.4.0.
    Does it mean php has to be downgraded?

    Anup
     
  2. wwfn

    wwfn Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2005
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    You need to go to http://zend.com and download zend 2.6. it works with all the current php. I had the same problem and done that.
     
  3. astridas

    astridas Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2004
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
  4. ramprage

    ramprage Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2002
    Messages:
    667
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Canada
  5. anup123

    anup123 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2004
    Messages:
    897
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    This Planet
    Thanks.
    For the time being downgraded php.
    Perhaps next upgrade (which should be coming soon as 1.3.34 has some security advisory fixed in 1.3.35-developer version or something) is shall follow the recommendations, unless the same is not fixed by cPanel.

    Thanks
    Anup
     
  6. kieranmullen

    kieranmullen Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2005
    Messages:
    165
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Portland, OR USA
    The upgrade went fine for me, phpinfo reports it to be working. How can I check via the comand line if it is running? I am running an install script that suggests I install zend. Arg! :mad: Yes I manually restarted httpd

    KM
     
  7. wwfn

    wwfn Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2005
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    all i can think of is to make sure its zend 2.6 for php 4.4.0 and up
     
  8. dev_cw

    dev_cw Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2004
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
  9. simplestar

    simplestar Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Check your php.ini. if Zend is installed, it will say it there.
     
  10. Salman75

    Salman75 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2004
    Messages:
    102
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Installing zend 2.6 completely broke apache. Repeated attempts to recompile did not succeed. Finally had to remove the new zend optimizer and downgrade php.
     
  11. HostingZero.com

    HostingZero.com Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2005
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Try
    Code:
    php -v
    .

    Regards.
     
  12. PacoSS

    PacoSS Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2004
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I have a server with 300 domains, many of them with oscommerce. When CPU start to reach the 100% continuously, I've installed Zend and I've got the cpu lower to 85 - 90%.
    Later, I've got a mysql config file that work very very well for me: swap usage (usually about 80 - 200 mb) goes to nearly 0, and cpu go down to 45-65%.
    After severaly week I've discovered eAccelerator (over the existing Zend) and reserve 64 mb ram for its cache, and my CPU now is 20 - 40% max (with more domains and php scripts).

    So this is my experience about php&mysql. From a really saturated server (100% cpu and 200 mb swap used) to a really fast server is a good my.cnf and eaccelerator.

    I hope to have help you. I spent hundreds of hours reading this and others forums, testing, ... on this.
     
  13. aleksi

    aleksi Registered

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2003
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Just to make sure

    Which version shall I install with
    CentOS 3.6 i686
    i686 i686 i386 GNU/Linux
     
  14. celliott

    celliott Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2006
    Messages:
    460
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    DO you have any links/info about installing eAccellerator, I might give it a try.
     
  15. imran_kh

    imran_kh Registered

    Joined:
    May 16, 2006
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    how to install eaccelerator

    How-To: Installing Eaccelerator

    What is It?

    Eaccelerator is a PHP accelerator/encoder/caching utility that is based off of the old mmcache (which is no longer being maintained).

    What Eaccelerator does is: it caches your PHP scripts so that the database is no longer being queried everytime someone needs a script. This is particularly useful for large forums, but pretty much anyone can benefit from it. Since these scripts are cached, you'll notice a decrease in memory use and server load.

    Now, onto installing this!
    ______________________________

    Installing Eaccelerator

    1. First, you'll want to SSH into your server as the root user. you should be in the default directory now. If you're not, type in cd ~

    2. Now we'll make the eaccelerator directory:

    mkdir /ea/

    cd /ea/

    2. Now we'll grab the files, and untar them:
    Notice that it's a tar.bz2 file, so we need to decompress it twice.

    wget http://kent.dl.sourceforge.net/sourc....4-rc1.tar.bz2

    bzip2 -d eaccelerator-0.9.4-rc1.tar.bz2

    tar xvzf eaccelerator-0.9.4-rc1.tar

    3. Now that we've done that, let's install Eaccelerator:
    Note: in the following "export" command, you need to point that to where PHP is installed. For most, it's usually either "usr/" or "usr/local", but it may be something else.

    cd /eaccelerator-0.9.4-rc1/

    export PHP_PREFIX="/usr"

    $PHP_PREFIX/bin/phpize

    ./configure --enable-eaccelerator=shared --with-php-config=$PHP_PREFIX/bin/php-config

    make

    make install

    4. It's basically installed, now we need to edit the php.ini files to include Eaccelerator. This is usually found in the /etc/ folder, but if you can't find it, run a "locate php.ini" (without quotes) to find it.
    I'm editting my file with nano, which pretty much anyone with a modern server should have. You can use pico or vi, it's your choice:

    cd ~

    nano /etc/php.ini

    Now find ;Windows Extensions (press ctrl + W). Remove the mmcache lines (if you had it installed before) above this and...

    ----------------------------------------------------------------------------
    For a PHP extension install (most will probably want this)
    ----------------------------------------------------------------------------

    extension="eaccelerator.so"
    eaccelerator.shm_size="16"
    eaccelerator.cache_dir="/tmp/eaccelerator"
    eaccelerator.enable="1"
    eaccelerator.optimizer="1"
    eaccelerator.check_mtime="1"
    eaccelerator.debug="0"
    eaccelerator.filter=""
    eaccelerator.shm_max="0"
    eaccelerator.shm_ttl="0"
    eaccelerator.shm_prune_period="0"
    eaccelerator.shm_only="0"
    eaccelerator.compress="1"
    eaccelerator.compress_level="9"

    ----------------------------------------------------------------------------
    For a Zend extension install (only if you have Zend installed, or
    if you're going to install it
    ----------------------------------------------------------------------------

    zend_extension="/usr/lib/php4/eaccelerator.so"
    eaccelerator.shm_size="16"
    eaccelerator.cache_dir="/tmp/eaccelerator"
    eaccelerator.enable="1"
    eaccelerator.optimizer="1"
    eaccelerator.check_mtime="1"
    eaccelerator.debug="0"
    eaccelerator.filter=""
    eaccelerator.shm_max="0"
    eaccelerator.shm_ttl="0"
    eaccelerator.shm_prune_period="0"
    eaccelerator.shm_only="0"
    eaccelerator.compress="1"
    eaccelerator.compress_level="9"

    5. Now we need to make the cache directory, where the cache files will be stored.

    cd ~

    mkdir /tmp/eaccelerator/

    chmod 0777 /tmp/eaccelerator/

    6. Yay, it's installed! Let's restart Apache now so that Eaccelerator will start working:

    service httpd restart

    7. You *should* notice some sort of speed boost or that the server load/memory use has decreased. But let's just make sure that it's installed properly.

    Open up your favorite FTP client and upload the eaccelerator.php and eaccelerator_password.php files to any directory on your website. I uploaded mine to my forum directory, but you can pretty much place them anywhere in the public_html directory.

    Once that's done, you can go to http://www.your-domain.com/path_to_s...ccelerator.php (of course, replacing that with the path to the script) to see if it's installed. If it's installed properly, you'll see a screen like this:





    Otherwise, you'll see a screen saying that it's not installed. You have to go back through the instructions, retry it and see if that works. Check to make sure that you specified the right directories and files in the instructions above!

    Now, we'll probably want to add a password to prevent some mean user from clearing the cached scripts or causing other bad stuff to happen. Navigate to the eaccelerator_password file and set an administrator name and password.

    This doesn't set the password, but it gives you a line of code to place in your php.ini file (just below the eaccelerator part). Once you do this, you need to log in to view the eaccelerator page.

    After you're done, you can delete or rename this file, but it's not required.
    ____________________________________
     
Loading...

Share This Page