The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Zend Opt 3.0.0 breaks Apache with PHP 4.4.2

Discussion in 'EasyApache' started by tweakservers, May 2, 2006.

  1. tweakservers

    tweakservers Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2006
    Messages:
    379
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I just have a box setup today and notice that the new Cpanel installation have Zend Opt 3.0.0 selected which causes the Apache to not able to start up. No error is thrown in the apache error_log.

    After changing the my $ver to 2.6.2 in /scripts/installzendopt and reinstall the Zend Opt, things are getting back to normal now:

     
  2. shivamxp

    shivamxp Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2005
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    same issue with me too.
     
  3. dropby23

    dropby23 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2005
    Messages:
    155
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    zend 3.0 works file for me with apache 1.3.34 and php 4.4.2
     
  4. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,475
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    I've had mixed experiences and noted it on my blog some time ago. It may depend on the selection of PHP modules, but v3 definitely causes problems for some, which suggests some serious bugs in the zend code.
     
  5. ffeingol

    ffeingol Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2001
    Messages:
    215
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Once we modify installzendopt can we just re-run it to "downgrade"? i.e. will it update the php.ini correctly and not mess up the way that the php.ini was linked into the Zend dir or should we back out those changes first?

    TIA

    Frank
     
  6. trparky

    trparky Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2003
    Messages:
    184
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    This doesn't surprise me. This isn't the first time that Zend has screwed up. Remember the Zend Optimizer "Leaking File Descriptor" bug? Yeah, thats right, crashed a server good after a period of time.
     
  7. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,475
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    IIRC, you can simply adjust the installzendopt script and then rerun it.
     
  8. ffeingol

    ffeingol Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2001
    Messages:
    215
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Yup, just reran it and it nightly downgraded zend.

    Frank
     
  9. johny_gjx

    johny_gjx Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2005
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    and I just saw this problem with Current versions not with Release or Stable, anyone has seen this with Release versions?
     
  10. tweakservers

    tweakservers Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2006
    Messages:
    379
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    yes, seeing this on the new Cpanel box installation WHM 10.8.0 cPanel 10.8.2-R83
     
Loading...

Share This Page