The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

zend optimizer not available for user shell, only root

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Tim@OCZ, Dec 23, 2005.

  1. Tim@OCZ

    Tim@OCZ Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2003
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    teamics@hosting2 [~]# php -v
    PHP 4.4.1 (cli) (built: Dec 16 2005 19:56:33)
    Copyright (c) 1997-2004 The PHP Group
    Zend Engine v1.3.0, Copyright (c) 1998-2004 Zend Technologies
    teamics@hosting2 [~]# exit
    logout

    root@hosting2 [/usr/bin]# php -v
    PHP 4.4.1 (cli) (built: Dec 16 2005 19:56:33)
    Copyright (c) 1997-2004 The PHP Group
    Zend Engine v1.3.0, Copyright (c) 1998-2004 Zend Technologies
    with Zend Extension Manager v1.0.8, Copyright (c) 2003-2005, by Zend Technologies
    with Zend Optimizer v2.5.10, Copyright (c) 1998-2005, by Zend Technologies
    root@hosting2 [/usr/bin]#


    What is going on here? It seems when logged in as a user I can't execute any zend encoded php scripts...?
     
  2. kernow

    kernow Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2004
    Messages:
    865
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    18
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    check for php version in /usr/local/bin
     
  3. Tim@OCZ

    Tim@OCZ Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2003
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I did have two different versions. One in /usr/bin/ and one in /usr/local/bin. That has been resolved. I manually ran /usr/local/bin/php -v on each user and had the same problem.
     
  4. Wolvie

    Wolvie Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2003
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I've the same problem.

    Anyone already has a solution?
     
  5. AndyReed

    AndyReed Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    May 29, 2004
    Messages:
    2,222
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Minneapolis, MN
    Did you, manually, install another version of Php or ZendOptimizer in a different directory than the default? Are Php and ZendOptimizer configured properly?
     
  6. Wolvie

    Wolvie Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2003
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I've tried all the php excutuves that are on my system. But as normal user (or as nobody) zend optimizer isn't active. Only ass root.

    The mod_php in apache is working correctly, it's only in console (crontab's etc.)


    Is there a solution?
     
  7. areha

    areha Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2002
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I am having the exact same problem, and I have tried many things...

    php info.php < info.html

    When I access info.php: Zend Optimizer.
    When I access info.html: No zend optimizer.

    Both reported same PHP version and build-date, but different php.ini locations. The info.html did report the original /us/local/lib file. But it has the correct zend path, just as the /usr/local/Zend/php.ini file.

    I upgraded PHP to 5.0.5, and both the php module and the cli version got the new version stamp in info.php and info.html (both changed).

    I then ran the exact same procedure as root. Then:

    When I access info_root.php: Zend Optimizer.
    When I access info_root.html: Zend Optimizer (and correct path to php.ini)

    Anyone knows something I can try to fix this?
     
  8. areha

    areha Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2002
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I found the solution !!

    I am using Jail shell for all accounts. By changing to normal shell, zend is working!
     
  9. ffeingol

    ffeingol Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2001
    Messages:
    215
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    The problem appears to be related to what directories are within the jailshell. php.ini is located in /usr/local/lib and you can "see" that directory within a jailshell. The actual php.ini, however, is in /usr/local/Zend and that direction is NOT within the jailshell. So when php tries to follow the link from /usr/local/lib to /usr/local/Zend it can't and you end up running (command line) php w/o any php.ini (and no Zend them).

    Frank
     
  10. vexil

    vexil Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2006
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Configure Jailshell

    So how do we configure Jailshell to allow access to the Zend directory?
     
  11. ffeingol

    ffeingol Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2001
    Messages:
    215
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    As far as I know there is not config. It's compiled into the shell.
     
Loading...

Share This Page