The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Zend Optimizer not getting installed

Discussion in 'EasyApache' started by Harshal Vaidya, Aug 5, 2012.

  1. Harshal Vaidya

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2012
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Planet Earth
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Howdy,

    Server: Linux CentOS
    PHP : 5.3.x
    Apache : 2.2

    I tried installing /scripts/phpextensionmanager install zendopt ALSO /scripts/installzend

    It gave some error like
    Zend Guard is active
    couldn't install zend opt

    I tried a lot using easyapace.. no luck so far ..:(

    commenting php.ini also didn't help, zendgaurd.so line automatically appears after running /scripts/phpextensionmanager install zendopt

    Is there any version issue for Zend Manager to get it..

    Thanks in adavance :)
     
  2. cPanelTristan

    cPanelTristan Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    7,623
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    somewhere over the rainbow
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    Please provide the exact output when running the command with the exact command used. Copy and paste this from command line for us to see the exact details.

    It seems most likely it is installing for PHP 5.3 and not installing for PHP 4, since it will find the PHP 4 binary and not install it. Since you aren't using PHP 4, that response wouldn't matter. Something like this is what I mean:

    Code:
    Installing Zend Guard Loader binary
    Activating Zend Guard Loader in /usr/local/lib/php.ini
    Zend Guard activated.
    Skipping install to /usr/local/php4, missing php.ini
    Which clearly is for PHP 4 and doesn't indicate that PHP 5 isn't being installed.

    Also, you can see if it is active using this command:

    Code:
    php -v
    You'd get something like the following:

    Code:
    root@host [~]# php -v
    PHP 5.3.15 (cli) (built: Jul 31 2012 08:46:16) 
    Copyright (c) 1997-2012 The PHP Group
    Zend Engine v2.3.0, Copyright (c) 1998-2012 Zend Technologies
        with Zend Guard Loader v3.3, Copyright (c) 1998-2010, by Zend Technologies
    Going forward, whenever possible please always provide the full error message rather than a synopsis. The fine details do matter for error messages.

    Thanks!
     
  3. Harshal Vaidya

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2012
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Planet Earth
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Thanks Tristan,

    Thank you for relevant reply. It was a perfect. As specified by you the same code I was getting.

    I think its an issue of PHP... let me try switching version that might help .

    But switching PHP version may affect my existing scripting. please let me know how should we go in this case ?


    Thanks,
    Harshal Vaidya...
     
    #3 Harshal Vaidya, Aug 6, 2012
    Last edited: Aug 6, 2012
  4. NixTree

    NixTree Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    386
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Gods Own Country
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    There is no Zend Optimizer in PHP 5.3. In PHP 5.3, it is renamed as Zend Guard. They are two separate products and a php programe built based on one doesn't work with other. So if you build a programe based on Zend Optimizer, you are stuck in PHP 5.2.
     
  5. gkgcpanel

    gkgcpanel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2007
    Messages:
    217
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Just recompiled using EasyApache and Zend Guard is selected. PHP Version is 5.3.15 (no PHP 4 installed).

    Log file clearly shows:

    -- Begin opt 'Zend Guard Loader for PHP' --
    -- Begin step 'Install Zend Optimizer' --
    Determining PHP version
    Installing Zend Guard Loader binary
    Activating Zend Guard Loader in /usr/local/lib/php.ini
    Zend Guard activated.
    -- End step 'Install Zend Optimizer' --

    -- End opt 'Zend Guard Loader for PHP' --

    Yet, a customer who has purchased a script that is protected with Zend Guard is getting this message when visiting his new site:

    Zend Optimizer not installed

    This file was encoded by the Zend Guard. In order to run it, please install the Zend Optimizer (available without charge), version 3.0.0 or later.
    Seeing this message instead of the website you expected?
    This means that this webserver is not configured correctly. In order to view this website properly, please contact the website's system administrator/webmaster with the following message:

    The component "Zend Optimizer" is not installed on the Web Server and therefore cannot service encoded files. Please download and install the Zend Optimizer (available without charge) on the Web Server.


    I then tried running /scripts/installzendopt

    Output is as follows:

    Updating md5sum list
    Fetching http://httpupdate.cpanel.net/cpanelsync/easy/targz.yaml (connected:0).......(request attempt 1/12)...Using dns cache file /root/.HttpRequest/httpupdate.cpanel.net......searching for mirrors (mirror search attempt 1/3)......loaded mirror speeds from cache......mirror search success......connecting to 67.222.0.10...@67.222.0.10......connected......receiving...100%......request success......Done
    Installing Zendopt
    Determining PHP version
    Installing Zend Guard Loader binary
    Activating Zend Guard Loader in /usr/local/lib/php.ini
    Zend Guard activated.
    Skipping install to /usr/local/php4, missing php.ini

    If you put a phpinfo file in place, and look for installed modules, only ioncube loader shows up.

    Additional Modules
    Module Name
    ionCube Loader

    So Zend Guard Loader (even though selected during EasyApache, is NOT getting installed (or not in the correct location).

    Running cPanel Version:
    WHM 11.32.3 (build 23)
    CENTOS 5.8 x86_64 standard

    - - - Updated - - -

    Forgot to mention...

    ZendGuardLoader.so is found in:

    /usr/local/Zend/lib/Guard-5.5.0/php-5.3.x

    I'm wondering if that is the correct location???

    Another update...
    Ran this from the command line on a server where ZendGuard is installed (and apparently working fine):

    # php -m | grep -i zend

    Output:

    Zend Guard Loader
    [Zend Modules]
    Zend Guard Loader


    Ran the same command on the server in question:

    # php -m | grep -i zend
    [Zend Modules]


    So, it is not installing it.
     
    #5 gkgcpanel, Aug 27, 2012
    Last edited: Aug 27, 2012
  6. gkgcpanel

    gkgcpanel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2007
    Messages:
    217
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Wow. File sizes and dates are different too...

    On the server that it is working fine on:

    The /usr/local/Zend/lib/Guard-5.5.0/php-5.3.x/ZendGuardLoader.so file is
    dated: Aug 2 and has a size of 917366

    On the server where it is NOT working (that was just recompiled with EasyApache),
    The date is Mar 19 and the size is: 1088132
     
  7. cPanelTristan

    cPanelTristan Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    7,623
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    somewhere over the rainbow
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Could future commands and output be placed into code tags? This makes it easier to read when you are pasting a command and the output.

    Also, I had to revise what I just said as I see you mention one where it is working and then the one where it isn't working and that one isn't showing Zend Guard Loader.

    Can you try in command line to install it using phpextensionmgr?

    Code:
    /scripts/phpextensionmgr install ZendOpt
     
  8. gkgcpanel

    gkgcpanel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2007
    Messages:
    217
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Hi Tristan,

    Tried that. Same result.

    Code:
    # /scripts/phpextensionmgr install ZendOpt
    Updating md5sum list
    Fetching http://httpupdate.cpanel.net/cpanelsync/easy/targz.yaml (connected:0).......(request attempt 1/12)...Resolving httpupdate.cpanel.net...(resolve attempt 1/65)...
            Fetching http://httpupdate.cpanel.net/mirror_addr_list (connected:0).......(request attempt 1/3)......connecting to 216.246.55.158...@216.246.55.158......connected......receiving...100%......request success......Done
    ...found 40 host(s) from mirror_addr_list......searching for mirrors (mirror search attempt 1/3)......loaded mirror speeds from cache......mirror search success...@216.246.55.158......connected......receiving...100%......request success......Done
    Installing Zendopt
    Determining PHP version
    Installing Zend Guard Loader binary
    Activating Zend Guard Loader in /usr/local/lib/php.ini
    Zend Guard activated.
    Skipping install to /usr/local/php4, missing php.ini
    
    Visiting the customers site, still gives the same error that Zend Guard Loader is not installed.

    Code:
    # php -m | grep -i zend
    [Zend Modules]
    
    Thank you,
    Peter


     
  9. cPanelTristan

    cPanelTristan Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    7,623
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    somewhere over the rainbow
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Could you submit a ticket for us to check further? The ticket could be submitted using the link in my signature or via WHM > Support Center > Contact cPanel. Thanks!
     
  10. gkgcpanel

    gkgcpanel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2007
    Messages:
    217
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Tristan,

    Done. Ticket # 3103147

    Thanks,
    Peter
     
  11. gkgcpanel

    gkgcpanel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2007
    Messages:
    217
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Thanks to support the problem is fixed. Had to do with some additional settings we had at the bottom of the /usr/local/lib/php.ini file. The Zend Guard Loader line needed to be before those lines.
     
  12. dbcorp

    dbcorp Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2003
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Canada
    so whats the trick to solving this then why hide it in a ticket when there is more of us that need it for older software that relies on zend optimizer libraries and not zend guard
     
  13. cPanelJamyn

    cPanelJamyn Social Engineer
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2009
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hi,

    In gkgcpanel's case, the issue was user-specific configuration options were added before the Zend Guard entries, so the Zend Guard configuration was no longer global. If you're facing an issue where Zend Guard appears to install correctly but isn't loading, I'd move the configuration entries up a bit in php.ini (or open a support case and we can take a look at the issue). Thanks.
     
Loading...

Share This Page