Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

zone file for nameservers

Discussion in 'Bind/DNS/Nameserver' started by sexshun, Oct 26, 2005.

  1. sexshun

    sexshun Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2005
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Ok, on 2 seperate servers I setup my zone files for my nameservers the same exact way (WHM Basic Setup > Assign IP > Add A Entry) yet WHM made them completely different. Can someone show me what a proper zone file is supposed to look like for nameservers.

    Any ideas how this happened...Look at how different these look...

    Server 1
    [​IMG]

    Server 2
    [​IMG]

    I know the only thing thats important is the A record which both of them have...but I still don't understand why they came out different...I looked directly into the zone file via shell and what the hell is this %nsttl%. One zone file has it and the other one doesn't...its under the ttl field.
     
    #1 sexshun, Oct 26, 2005
    Last edited: Oct 26, 2005
  2. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,460
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    463
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    Both are wrong. You should add A records for your ns1 and ns2 subdomains to the zone file of server2.com pointing to the correct IP addresses for them - and that's it. You should remove the zones for the subdomains.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. sexshun

    sexshun Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2005
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Oh i see. So, why does WHM make them when you run through the basic setup?
     
  4. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,460
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    463
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    No idea .
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. sexshun

    sexshun Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2005
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Oh one more thing, do you happen to know why my ttl fields have this %nsttl% in them when I look at my zone files via shell.



    example.
    domain.com. %nsttl% IN NS ns1.maindomain.com.
     
  6. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,460
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    463
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    That appears to be a bug in the zone templates.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  7. sexshun

    sexshun Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2005
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    BLAST, you're right..i just compared my 2 templates from 2 different servers..and one is fubared...whyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyy
     
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice