The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

zone file for nameservers

Discussion in 'Bind / DNS / Nameserver Issues' started by sexshun, Oct 26, 2005.

  1. sexshun

    sexshun Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2005
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ok, on 2 seperate servers I setup my zone files for my nameservers the same exact way (WHM Basic Setup > Assign IP > Add A Entry) yet WHM made them completely different. Can someone show me what a proper zone file is supposed to look like for nameservers.

    Any ideas how this happened...Look at how different these look...

    Server 1
    [​IMG]

    Server 2
    [​IMG]

    I know the only thing thats important is the A record which both of them have...but I still don't understand why they came out different...I looked directly into the zone file via shell and what the hell is this %nsttl%. One zone file has it and the other one doesn't...its under the ttl field.
     
    #1 sexshun, Oct 26, 2005
    Last edited: Oct 26, 2005
  2. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,475
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    Both are wrong. You should add A records for your ns1 and ns2 subdomains to the zone file of server2.com pointing to the correct IP addresses for them - and that's it. You should remove the zones for the subdomains.
     
  3. sexshun

    sexshun Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2005
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Oh i see. So, why does WHM make them when you run through the basic setup?
     
  4. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,475
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    No idea .
     
  5. sexshun

    sexshun Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2005
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Oh one more thing, do you happen to know why my ttl fields have this %nsttl% in them when I look at my zone files via shell.



    example.
    domain.com. %nsttl% IN NS ns1.maindomain.com.
     
  6. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,475
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    That appears to be a bug in the zone templates.
     
  7. sexshun

    sexshun Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2005
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    BLAST, you're right..i just compared my 2 templates from 2 different servers..and one is fubared...whyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyy
     
Loading...

Share This Page